dsegel
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:37 pm

Top layer being filled in at normal layer heights

Mon Mar 02, 2015 4:00 pm

Slice the model in the attached FF. If the layer height is set to 0.1 or 0.2, it fills in the top layer. If I set it to something else, like 0.0132 or 0.2064, then it slices correctly. Any ideas as to what's going on here? NetFabb doesn't report any problems with the stl file.
Attachments
M30_nut_hires.factory
(2.06 MiB) Downloaded 163 times

habloIngles
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Top layer being filled in at normal layer heights

Tue Mar 03, 2015 6:11 am

s3d built in manifold checker shows non manifold edges all along the inside of the model, which I'm guessing is the reason why you're seeing what you're seeing

dsegel
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:37 pm

Re: Top layer being filled in at normal layer heights

Tue Mar 03, 2015 12:20 pm

NetFabb Basic doesn't find anything wrong with it, but when I ran it through the NetFabb/Microsoft cloud fixer it came back with a membrane in the middle and the threads had turned into intermittent spikes. Weird.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”