ScootnDoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:25 pm

First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 12:20 am

Hello fellow creators,

I just got my M2 a couple weeks ago and after some calibration my prints have been coming out pretty nice. However, when I slice models with Creator, my first layer is not quite solid. When I print the pre-loaded models, the first layer comes out nice n' solid with a glossy finish. I've adjusted nearly all the settings and I'm currently running tomlombardi's settings. Here's a photo of the issue:

Image


Does anyone know whats going on?

chuck12
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:18 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 12:38 pm

I can't be certain but it appears to me you are printing with the raft option turned on.

ScootnDoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:25 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:58 pm

The raft option was off. I did have some stick issues due to printing about 5 calibration cubes before this one, however, they all had this same first layer issue.

sir-mike
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:53 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:11 pm

Hi,

you should check your Z-zero it might be more than your layer height or your z-offset in creator is to high.

Michael

ScootnDoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:25 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:33 pm

I just checked the z-offset, and its at 0. I'll recalibrate the z-zero for the next print, but with the current calibration, Creator sliced models printed the first layer differently than the pre-loaded.

ScootnDoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:25 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:20 pm

For comparison, here's the glider model pre-sliced and printed with the same calibration as the calibration pyramid below it.

Image

jd_3d
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Thu Jul 25, 2013 11:59 pm

I've had the same problem and sent the issue to the tech team. This happens when you use a manual extrusion width (which I need to control certain things). They said they are working on a fix for the next version that will use the proper path spacing for that first layer.

ScootnDoodle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:25 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:30 am

I've had the same problem and sent the issue to the tech team. This happens when you use a manual extrusion width (which I need to control certain things). They said they are working on a fix for the next version that will use the proper path spacing for that first layer.
This makes sense, I had a feeling it was a program issue.

I just printed a pyramid with Slic3r and it is pretty much flawless... and Slic3r is free :|

Clayton
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:55 pm

Re: First Layer Issues

Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:47 am

This is only a problem with the very first layer and was just due to conflicting settings. For example, setting a manual extrusion width and then changing other properties that "should" affect this width (but didn't because it was manually set).

Try setting your first layer height to 100% and then using the z-offset on the G-Code tab if you want to lower the head more to squish the filament on the first layer. Or you could use auto extrusion width.

rklosinski
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:19 am

Re: First Layer Issues

Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:25 am

I have a similar issues on my M2 with abs EXCEPT i did not use the manual extrusion option. Will this be corrected or can I get a refund? My Z-height is set to .1mm and I just re-checked it.
Attachments
20130906_214845.jpg
space between layers too big.
Last edited by rklosinski on Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”