22MIL2DAY
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 10:51 am
Location: SARASOTA FLORIDA

CAN'T PROGRAM PART

Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:07 pm

I cannot program any parts for some reason. The scale of the viewing window is incorrect. I place or try to place parts on the printer bed to program and write the G code but a 200mm part appears to be 285mm and hangs off the print bed. Also I am unable to accurately position the parts. Even when I do get them to post out when I view the program it fills in where it should not and then doesn't fill where it should. Currently I am unable to program even the simplest parts. This is the 1st time I am having these problems. I did check the parts in my CAD system (Pro/e) and they are correct to scale and are the correct dimensions. What am I doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: CAN'T PROGRAM PART

Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:43 pm

double click the part on the bed and make sure scaling is set at 1. also make sure your bed size is set correctly to match your printer.

dalew8abz
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:14 am
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio USA (4 mi. from MakerGear HQ!)
Contact: Website

Re: CAN'T PROGRAM PART

Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:11 pm

22MIL,

Might also zip through the options in the Repair menu, just in case there are some lurking artifacts, non-manifold stuff, etc.

It doesn't sound like a units of measure thing though. In./mm. would leave stuff off by a factor of 25.4. 285/200 = 1.425 sounds closer to a square root of 2 (1.414) or 10/7 (1.429) ratio. Nothing comes to mind there.

Sorry I can't help with the CAD side, though. Most of my work has been done in OpenSCAD....

Dale

22MIL2DAY
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 10:51 am
Location: SARASOTA FLORIDA

Re: CAN'T PROGRAM PART

Mon Sep 30, 2013 9:15 am

Thanks for the replies, I will give it a try this afternoon.

22MIL2DAY
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 10:51 am
Location: SARASOTA FLORIDA

Re: CAN'T PROGRAM PART

Thu Oct 03, 2013 2:45 pm

The scale was off on the print bed and I have adjusted it. The software is working better now. Thanks for the help

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”