jbak9141
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:38 am

Initial Wipe blocking nozzle

Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:46 am

Hi all,
I'm just getting started with S3D and am having difficulty finding information on the "wipe" action that occurs before each print begins. I am using a Flashforge creator pro.

At the beginning of each print, the nozzle begins extruding in the front right corner of the build platform and moves back and forth over half a centimetre about 3 times. It looks like it is trying to wip the nozzle or build up pressure before moving onto the rest of the job but every single time it does this filament globs around the extruder head and causes failed prints 100% of the time. Thus far I've been getting around it by pausing my prints after it does this wipe action, cleaning the nozzle then letting it proceed as normal.

What is this action called and is there an option to control it in S3D? On a side note, is there an easy way to get S3D to add a single extrusion line along the front of the build platform just before moving onto the brim?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

CompoundCarl
Posts: 2005
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 6:23 am

Re: Initial Wipe blocking nozzle

Fri Nov 13, 2015 5:56 am

Hah well that's interesting! I've done probably hundreds of prints and never had a problem with that routine. But anyways, you can change it to whatever you want. Just edit the starting script (on the Scripts tab).

User avatar
DarrenG
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:12 pm
Location: UK

Re: Initial Wipe blocking nozzle

Fri Nov 13, 2015 2:09 pm

No problems here, (other than still struggling with using the other extruder). Are you sure you're levelled properly, that could be the reason the wipe is failing as it works perfectly here?

One thought occurred to me, which extruder are you using? There is an issue with using the left extruder as it can't get far enough over on right of HBP to do a proper wipe over the edge. Still not figured out how to force it to do the wipe on the left for left extruder. Could that be it?
Flashforge Creator Pro | Simplify 3D | AstroPrint

jeffrp03
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:25 pm

Re: Initial Wipe blocking nozzle

Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:20 pm

Did you ever figure out a way around this? I am having the same issue with my FFCP.

JoeJ
Posts: 1436
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: Initial Wipe blocking nozzle

Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:34 am

You can edit your starting script if you want a different startup routine (on the Scripts tab)

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”