hopmedic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:00 pm

Slicing Without Common Sense

Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:07 pm

Please take a look at this attached STL, and the attached gcode file. Look around layer 50, at how Simplify3D sliced it, which defies common sense. There are overhangs which are meant to be solidly attached to the wall that they are attached to, yet Simplify3D sliced the file as if these are separate pieces, greatly weakening the structure. These should be integrated with the perimeters of the walls that they are attached to, not having separate perimeters. This doesn't make sense.

Granted, I'm brand new to S3D, but this just seems to defy logic.
Attachments
Nut Holder.gcode
(255.39 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
Nut Holder.stl
(10.34 KiB) Downloaded 119 times

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2282
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Slicing Without Common Sense

Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:00 pm

Try using the Separate Connected Surfaces option on the Mesh dropdown menu.

The .stl is made up of three separate meshes that result in S3D slicing them separately unless you separate them first...and then the slicer combines them into one object!!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

hopmedic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:00 pm

Re: Slicing Without Common Sense

Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:55 pm

That works. Thanks! It seems rather counter to common sense, though, as "separate" connected surfaces sounds like the opposite if what I want, since I wanted to join them. ;)

Regardless of the word, it works. Thanks!

danielhenley
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: Slicing Without Common Sense

Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:54 pm

Machines don't have "common sense," if you give it multiple objects it will print them as multiple objects, to avoid this you need to merge them.

Microsoft's model repair website does a great job at merging multiple meshes into one model:

https://netfabb.azurewebsites.net/

hopmedic
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:00 pm

Re: Slicing Without Common Sense

Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:16 pm

The common sense that I was referring to was in naming the command. I used the separate command and it joined the meshes together. It did the opposite of what "separate" means.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2282
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Slicing Without Common Sense

Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:20 pm

The option I suggested DOES separate...it separates un-joined meshes that exist in one model into separate models having one mesh each.

S3D has a whizzo feature that where SEPARATE models overlap, they are automatically joined for the purposes of slicing.

Put these two entirely sensible and logical process steps together......and you get what you call "without common sense"....but what I call a very useful feature.

Just goes to prove differing opinions!!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”