Naonak
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 7:40 pm

What wrong with my model that it won't slice?

Sun May 08, 2016 7:51 pm

Hi Folks,

I'm not sure where else to turn for advice here. I made a simple cup holder model in Sketchup and it seems to be fine in Sketchup. I exported it to STL and loaded it in Simplify3D, but it is all kinds of messed up when S3D goes to slice it. I can't figure out what I've done wrong or even to begin to fix it, as I don't even know why it's gone so far off the deep end. I am new to creating new models, but I've been printing for a long time - just other peoples models. So I'm trying to learn here...

Can anyone tell me what's wrong with my model and how to fix it? I'm not look for anyone to fix it - I want to know where I went wrong and how to prevent it from happening in the future. I know I should probably mode to something else, other than Sketchup, but it seemed to have the lowest learning curve. I've tried FreeCAD, but it's beyond me at the moment - I need to sit down and really learn it. But I am open to suggestions on better software to use going forward.

Here is a link to the STL file: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9KoE ... S1UNl8weDQ
And here is the Sketchup File: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9KoE ... VZJQnFRYVk

Any help or tips would be appreciated. I am open to suggestions on all fronts on how to improve or what software to move to, as well.

CompoundCarl
Posts: 2005
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:23 am

Re: What wrong with my model that it won't slice?

Mon May 09, 2016 8:17 am

I don't even see an internal surface on the model! You need to make a complete 3D solid, not just random sheets.

Sketchup is notoriously quite bad at this, so you may want to look at a different 3D solid modeling program. There are ways to make a complete valid solid with sketchup, but I've found it much more difficult than other programs.

Naonak
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 7:40 pm

Re: What wrong with my model that it won't slice?

Mon May 09, 2016 3:24 pm

Thank you Carl. I was wondering if that might be the problem but I wasn't able to find a way to change/fix that in Sketchup.

I just bought a copy of SolidWorks... I guess I need to buckle down and start learning that.

In the meantime, do you know of any way to fix the model in Sketchup while I wait for my copy to arrive (Why is SolidWorks not a digital copy?) and for my Spacemouse to be shipped.

danielhenley
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: What wrong with my model that it won't slice?

Wed May 11, 2016 4:13 pm

If you have a model that won't slice, try microsoft's free model repair service:

https://modelrepair.azurewebsites.net/

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”