User avatar
scobo
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:05 am

Gaps in sliced model

Tue Jul 19, 2016 12:14 pm

I've been using S3D for a while now and I'm generally very happy with it, great piece of software.
However, I've been trying to print a propellor recently and I'm having trouble with gaps inbetween the blades and the prop head.
There are definitely no gaps in the model and Cura slices it correctly with no gaps.
I've been through all the settings and can't figure out why S3D is leaving the gaps.
Here are pics of the stl file and the sliced preview showing the gap. The gap is marked in red.

Click the images for a larger view.
Attachments
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Davinci 1.0 with repetier 0.92 firmware & E3D hotend
Slicers - Simplify3d, Cura
Filament - ABS, PLA, TPU, Timberfill, Colorfabb Woodfill, Bronzefill, Glowfill and XT,
3D modelling - 123D Design, Mesh Mixer and Afinia ES360 3D scanner

dorsai3d
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 9:01 am

Re: Gaps in sliced model

Tue Jul 19, 2016 12:48 pm

Go to Mesh -> Separate connected surfaces, then try slicing it. Your model should be one solid, not multiple overlapping meshes all crammed into one.

Also, you can run models through netfabb online if you didn't make them/don't want to boolean them together manually.

User avatar
scobo
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:05 am

Re: Gaps in sliced model

Tue Jul 19, 2016 2:04 pm

dorsai3d wrote:Go to Mesh -> Separate connected surfaces, then try slicing it.
That sorted it !
Excellent, thanks. :)
Davinci 1.0 with repetier 0.92 firmware & E3D hotend
Slicers - Simplify3d, Cura
Filament - ABS, PLA, TPU, Timberfill, Colorfabb Woodfill, Bronzefill, Glowfill and XT,
3D modelling - 123D Design, Mesh Mixer and Afinia ES360 3D scanner

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”