Strix
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:15 am

Gcode file always saved as .gcode

Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:24 am

After a patch some time ago S3D forces .gcode format when saving. Even when overwriting a .g file it creates a new .gcode file.
This is a hassle since I'm using the printers auto print from SD card and need the .g format for it to see it. Its not a major problem but its an annoyance.

It worked before so I'm guessing its an oversight with a patch.

CompoundCarl
Posts: 2005
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:23 am

Re: Gcode file always saved as .gcode

Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:55 am

Did you try putting something like {EXTENSION "g"} in your post processing script? Otherwise, if you have gcode selected as the export file format, I'm pretty sure it will always save a .gcode file like you said

Strix
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:15 am

Re: Gcode file always saved as .gcode

Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:09 pm

Worked great!

Thanks alot.

rsworden59
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Gcode file always saved as .gcode

Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:23 pm

In my experience, if there are multiple Processes, the {EXTENSION "g"} has to go in the "Additional terminal commands for post processing" box of only the FIRST process, the one that handles the first layer. It's ignored in upper Processes.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”