Fozzie

Print from SD card / Makerbot Rep 2

Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:20 pm

I am new to Simplify3D Creator and stumped. I can print to my Replicator 2 successfully via the USB cable, but if I try to use the X3G file written to an SD card, it never works. The head moves to a random place and just stops and does nothing. (I saw the post about long file names, but I am using "test.x3g" so that shouldn't be it.) When I "prepare" the object for printing, I have both the gcode and x3g code being written directly to my SD card.

Fozzie

Re: Print from SD card / Makerbot Rep 2

Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:43 pm

Taking advice from another forum, instead of writing directly to the SD card from S3D Creator, I wrote to my HDD and then copied the file onto the SD card. This appears to have solved the problem as the resulting file worked just fine. Odd, as I have always written directly to the SD card from Makerware without problems.

jimc

Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:05 pm

fozzie thats a pretty good thread going over on the makerbot forum. i posted over there concerning you blob issue.

Fozzie

Fri Jan 31, 2014 7:26 pm

jimc wrote:fozzie thats a pretty good thread going over on the makerbot forum. i posted over there concerning you blob issue.
Your suggestion of turning on "coasting" helped a lot. Thanks!

Fozzie

Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:07 pm

Actually, this did NOT solve my problem. It did up my success rate, but getting something to print is still very hit-and-miss. Since I am using the same SD cards with 100% success from Makerware, I don't think it is the SD cards themselves that are the problem.