Page 1 of 1

Per layer fan control settings bug

Posted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:04 am
by Karl_Williams
There seems to be a bug with per layer fan control settings in version 2.0.1. The second entry in the list, regardless of the layer number, gets applied to layer 2 and then all of the following layer numbers for fan settings are off by +1 with the last entry being dropped completely. I tried this with a bunch of different layer numbers and the second entry always ends up on layer 2. Has anyone else noticed this? Here are the M106 fan settings from the g-code file:

; fanLayers,1,15,20,25,30
; fanSpeeds,0,50,55,60,75
; blipFanToFullPower,1

Searched the g-code file for M106 and can see that the M106 entry before layer 1 is correct:

M106 S0
M140 S70
M190 S70
M104 S185
M109 S185
M108 S155 ; turn on M2 fans
G28 ; home all axes
G92 E0
G1 E-1.2 F2400
; layer 1, Z = 0.12

Continue to search for M106 and find that the second entry for layer 15 ends up in layer 2 where it blips the fan and then sets the speed:

; layer 2, Z = 0.27
M106 S255
G4 P500
M106 S127

After layer 2, all of the other layer number entries are off by +1 and the last layer entry is dropped completely:

; layer 16, Z = 2.37
M106 S140

; layer 21, Z = 3.12
M106 S153

; layer 26, Z = 3.87
M106 S191

Re: Per layer fan control settings bug

Posted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 8:50 am
by Karl_Williams
Another thing that happens is that if you specify layer 2 as the second entry then it does go to layer 2 but the third entry ends up on layer 3 in the g-code and then the rest continue with layers +1 and drops the last entry.

; fanLayers,1,2,15,20,25
; fanSpeeds,0,2,45,50,60

Re: Per layer fan control settings bug

Posted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:42 pm
by triddle
I have seen this as well.

Re: Per layer fan control settings bug

Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 7:49 pm
by engraver
Hello

I have just implemented the per layer fan control on my HIGHLY modified LeapFrog. I call it "Evolution" as there bares little to the original. I put the meter on the output, and it seems to be working fine. I am not sure if I am off on the layers, but further testing will tell. My question is, If I put the M106 S0 command, into the ending g-Code scripts, Should I not be able to turn off the fan after the print is done? Another thought, would it be possible to have the % of the fan speed show up in the LCD display. Has anybody done this, and if so, could they share that information.

Engraver