Problematic Gap between Infill and Top Solid Layers

Get troubleshooting support from the community and help identify bugs for the development team to squash
TheGoofy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:53 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Problematic Gap between Infill and Top Solid Layers

Sat Dec 03, 2016 7:03 am

I'm having troubles with proper bonding of infill and top solid layers. The missing bond makes the printed parts less strong! There is a nice option, which controls the overlap percentage between infill and outline. Unfortunately this parameter seems only to control the overlap with perimeter lines, but not the overlap with Top or Bottom Solid Layers. Is there another parameter to control the overlap?

20161203_114912.jpg
Gap between infill and top solid layers (printing with UM2)

Screen Shot 2016-12-03 at 12.45.49.png
Preview in Simplify3D

fattymcbiggins
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:02 am

Re: Problematic Gap between Infill and Top Solid Layers

Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:00 pm

Did you ever receive an answer to your question? Or were you able to solve the problem?

I am having a similar issue. No matter how high I set the "Outline Overlap" percentage, the prints have a gap between the infill and the perimeter wall sections, particularly circular forms.

I will post a new topic in this forum to try to get an answer. If you are interested in hearing any response that I get, let me know and I will send it your way.

TheGoofy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:53 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Problematic Gap between Infill and Top Solid Layers

Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:11 am

No I didn't get an answer yet, but I'm still interested to know a solution.

smartavionics
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:46 am

Re: Problematic Gap between Infill and Top Solid Layers

Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:45 am

See viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3822&start=48

As mentioned in the above thread, I have recently implemented a similar fix for Cura which also suffers from the same deficiency and it's actually pretty simple to come up with a solution. I can't understand why S3D doesn't fix this glaring deficiency which has been a source of aggravation for years.

Return to Troubleshooting and Bug Reports