DanceM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:44 am

Vase mode seam

Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:42 pm

Hey,

is it even possible to print a vase in S3D without a seam on the vase surface?
Clip2net_170623223055.png
Never able to print at least one vase without it in S3D. Had to use Slic3r for the vases, and I am not happy with that at all.

PS: model orientation and scale were updated.
vaseTest.stl
(635.73 KiB) Downloaded 146 times
Last edited by DanceM on Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DanceM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:44 am

Re: Vase mode seam

Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:59 pm

New slicer version - old bugs. Simplify3D 4.0 :( :( :(
Clip2net_170725195823.png

DanceM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:44 am

Re: Vase mode seam

Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:51 am

I found, that the Slic3r have the same seam on the models. But the Cura is not. In the Cura you have option to fix it:
20294150_137210053535068_4718921942970881917_n.jpg

AndersE
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Vase mode seam

Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:02 pm

I dont understand this. There whould be no seam at all in vase mode as z moves continously.. OR?

When i have tried i have never seen any seams.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2063
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Vase mode seam

Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:38 pm

Please humour me......and try using the attached stl file and compare with the existing one. You may need to scale by a factor of 100 to get it the same size as the original!
Attachments
vaseTest_magic.stl
(1.92 MiB) Downloaded 152 times
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

MasterFX
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 11:23 am

Re: Vase mode seam

Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:06 pm

dkightley wrote:Please humour me......and try using the attached stl file and compare with the existing one. You may need to scale by a factor of 100 to get it the same size as the original!
Thats no Problem. Sliced with S3D v4 and your "magic". Still the same. It is the same problem I already mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7730&start=20#p33416
But nobody wanted to believe me :cry:
vase_magic.png

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2063
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Vase mode seam

Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:22 pm

But nobody wanted to believe me
On the strength of that comment......which I find insulting and WRONG.....I'll withdraw from this discussion as my input is not appreciated.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

DanceM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:44 am

Re: Vase mode seam

Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:37 pm

Sorry, my fault, I fixed model orientation and scale.

I did many tests with different models, and this bug is visible on most of them.
Here are more examples:
20248043_137190820203658_2610335406051285424_o.jpg
20280430_137190113537062_4950405342443788356_o.jpg
20248062_137189946870412_3815517390342070194_o.jpg

DanceM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:44 am

Re: Vase mode seam

Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:42 pm

And more:
20280272_137135013542572_2179545580091392148_o.jpg
20369585_137184753537598_5148441274471763200_o.jpg
20448890_137187250204015_7640132299841969366_o.jpg
It is possible to make layer height very small and then the seam is almost not noticible. But if you need to print vase without the seam at all - use Cura, while we have no solution for it in S3D.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”