barisahmet
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:52 am

[FIXED] Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:23 pm

Hi, I was using the old 3.xx version without any issues for a long time. Today, I have updated to version 4.0, and noticed my printer is freezing for few seconds (couple of times in a print), and continues normally, but this causes melting on object where hot end pause.

I haven't changed anything. My printer is Robo3D R1+ without modifications.

Does anyone have same issue? If not, I will do a clean installation.

Thanks!

AndersE
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:55 pm

I have got this problem too. Happened twice today. Pauses for a second or two then continues.
Never happended with 3.1.1 or before.

Homebuilt delta with a smoothieboard.

MrIvorVra
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 4:45 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:34 am

From my personal experience those pauses are caused by USB communication between printer and the pc.
I switched to a SD card never again had that problem.
My core XY suffers from that the most while my k8200 experiences that rarely.

AndersE
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:02 am

Could be so yes. But i have 2 printers both usb connected on win7 machines, and i have never had a bad print in 4-5 years of using s3d.

wirlybird
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:37 am

I had a similar thing happening when using USB. There is a setting in the gcode tab, I think (not in front of S3D to look), about communication that you can change and see if it helps.

Someone here will probably remember what it is before I can look!!

georgei
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 11:02 am
Location: London
Contact: Website

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:10 am

I have the same problem with V4 and windows 10. Prints pause for a second and then continues normally. It happens randomly.
It didn't happen with V3.1.1.

Must be some kind of communication or buffering problem.

Any ideas?


George

RamblinDan
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:32 am

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:41 am

I am having the same issue with both the Linux and the WIN 10 installs.
I have created a new printer description (export from Firmware Configuration)
I changed flow control from none to Software Flow (XON/XOFF) and moved timeout up to 40 seconds.
I tried to increase the cache size but that wouldn't work. It is at 63 bytes.
Testing so far has been good on Linux install. Need more run to to be certain. Win 10 next.

barisahmet
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:52 am

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Jul 28, 2017 3:27 pm

MrIvorVra wrote:From my personal experience those pauses are caused by USB communication between printer and the pc.
I switched to a SD card never again had that problem.
My core XY suffers from that the most while my k8200 experiences that rarely.
Seems like a communication problem, yes, but it doesn't happen in 3.11 with same settings. I'm pretty sure this introduced in version 4.0.

georgei
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 11:02 am
Location: London
Contact: Website

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:09 pm

It happens with Windows 10 only. I just changed to another computer with Windows 7 and prints the all day without any problem at all.
The point is that in a years time you will not be able to find any new computer with windows 7 so this one has to be sort it out.

faza380
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 9:30 am

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:18 am

This is a crazy bug Version 4.0.0
Image

Image

Image

Image

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”