gapdev
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Dana Point, CA

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:44 pm

georgei wrote:I have the same problem with V4 and windows 10. Prints pause for a second and then continues normally. It happens randomly.
It didn't happen with V3.1.1.

Must be some kind of communication or buffering problem.
Having same exact problem.

Kenny

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2170
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:58 pm

This is not a v4 issue. It was first suffered from in August 2015 by users upgrading to WIndows 10 from it's first release, and even before by beta users....well before v4 was dreamed up!

See this thread:https://forum.simplify3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3348
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

orbysis
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 2:52 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Sun Feb 04, 2018 3:16 pm

I'm printing with Win 10 over USB to a Printrbot Plus 1504.
When using Cura, I never experience pauses during a print.
Using Simplfy3D v4.0.1 will always produce a pause during the print. Sometimes multiple pauses or pauses that cause the print job to fail.

AndersE
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:06 am

yes it is. i am running win7 on 2 different printers and different hardware. happens on both with 4.0 and 4.01, but never with 3.1.1.

dkightley wrote:This is not a v4 issue. It was first suffered from in August 2015 by users upgrading to WIndows 10 from it's first release, and even before by beta users....well before v4 was dreamed up!

See this thread:https://forum.simplify3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3348

jangermann
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:41 am

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:25 pm

Same problem with my UM2, printing via SD card.
There is a bug in V4

KDan
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 11:57 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Sat Mar 03, 2018 4:42 am

I have the exact same problem with Windows 7. Been running S3D for several years with no issues, but as soon as I "upgraded" to V4.0, BAM!
Does anyone know where I can download the older 3.1.1 install file? Older versions don't seem to be available in the software section. I deleted my old 3.1.1. install file thinking I'd never need it again. That was a mistake :( Version 4.0 is almost unusable because of this constant freezing.
S3D support has been unresponsive to my request for a 3.1.1 download link.

KDan
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 11:57 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:49 pm

Support finally responded to my request for a 3.1.1 download link.
Sadly, they totally IGNORED my request.

All they did was ask for a factory file and proceeded to explain what a factory file is as if I was some kind of idiot.

I think we all know exactly what a factory file is, and in this case it's totally irrelevant.
Apparently S3D support does not read initial support requests... it just sends out canned messages asking for factory files.

If there was a better alternative to S3D I'd dump it in a minute. Their support leaves a LOT to be desired.

AndersE
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:51 am

jangermann wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:25 pm
Same problem with my UM2, printing via SD card.
There is a bug in V4
Thank you. i have an argument with a friend that tells me "no no there is nothing wrong with s3d, you have problems because you run from USB, get SD card"

People does not listen when you say "i have printed via usb for 6-7years without problems, and 3.1.1 works in that area".

morphi
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:56 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Thu Mar 08, 2018 10:30 am

I also have this problem. Im using Repetier-Host for USB operation. I think the problem is that S3D stops sending g-code.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2170
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Freeze for few seconds middle of printing

Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:46 pm

Okay.....this is getting like a bloody pantomime! "There's a bug!" "No there isn't" "Oh yes there is!"

From what has been said on more than one thread....there must be something going wrong. And nobody is providing any useful diagnostic information to allow the dev guys at S3D to investigate whether or not there is an issue in S3D.

So.....let's stop the dramatics...and document where there is a printing problem, and where printing is okay!

For starters.....

Makerbot Rep2 on Windows 10....printing to USB - never has been an issue.......printing direct - pauses started couple of years ago at Win10 upgrade. Stopped printing direct & have never tried since.

Next.......
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”