ManuelW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:37 am

Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:27 pm

Hey there,

in S3D 4.0 under Other i can set new the Filament Diameter, Price and density. Thats very nice.
But, this data is saved global and not per Material configuration. That makes no sense, because
every Filament have a other Diameter and Price.

i hope it is a bug and you can repair this soon :)

Regards
Manuel

Hank2501
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:17 pm

It seem's to be a feature... :shock:

I have had the same problem as well.
But there is a solution to fix that problem. (Not nice, but it work's for me)

1. in S3D in the File Menu Export FFF profile
2. Edit the xml-file you just generated
Append in every "<autoConfigureMaterial name="your Filament name">" section bevor "</autoConfigureMaterial>" following code:
<filamentDiameters>1.75</filamentDiameters>
<filamentPricesPerKg>0</filamentPricesPerKg>
<filamentDensities>1.25</filamentDensities>
4. Save the File and Import it to S3D via Import FFF profile

Now you can edit these parameter for each Filament.
Unfortunately you have to do it for every new Filament you add.

I thought, they will fix this in version 4.0. But... :cry:

ManuelW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:37 am

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:18 pm

I try'd this already, but it won't work in S3D 4.0, the values don't change.

Hank2501
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:06 pm

Did you switch to the new profile in FFF Settings?
Maybe you still use your old settings.
If you re-import the settings it will add a new profile and add a (2) to the name.

ManuelW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:37 am

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:13 am

Yes, of course, i switched to the new Profile.
have you try'd with S3D 4?

Hank2501
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:45 am

Yes, I did.
I checked it now with both installations, only S3D 4 work's with that.
S3D 3.1.1 did not save the Filament-Data. :cry:

ManuelW
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:37 am

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:51 am

Hmm, i have S3D 4.0 also, but still not works.

But i have seen, in 4.0 on top of the .fff there are already 3 lines with the values separated by a |
Maybe you can send me your .fff to have a look inside?

CompoundCarl
Posts: 2005
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:23 am

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:47 am

It's working fine for me in v4. If you want the filament properties to change with the material drop-down list selection, you have to configure it that way.

Go to File > Export FFF Profile, save your profile to your hard drive, and then open the .fff file in a text editor (it's just a standard XML file). Scroll towards the bottom and look for the <autoConfigureMaterial> sections. You need to add the filament settings (in bold) into each of those sections like this:

<autoConfigureMaterial name="PLA">
<globalExtruderTemperature>230</globalExtruderTemperature>
<globalExtrusionMultiplier>0.9</globalExtrusionMultiplier>
<fanSpeed>
<setpoint layer="1" speed="0"/>
<setpoint layer="2" speed="100"/>
</fanSpeed>
<filamentDiameters>1.75|1.75|1.75|1.75|1.75|1.75</filamentDiameters>
<filamentPricesPerKg>46|46|46|46|46|46</filamentPricesPerKg>
<filamentDensities>1.25|1.25|1.25|1.25|1.25|1.25</filamentDensities>

</autoConfigureMaterial>
<autoConfigureMaterial name="ABS">
<globalExtruderTemperature>230</globalExtruderTemperature>
<globalExtrusionMultiplier>1</globalExtrusionMultiplier>
<fanSpeed>
<setpoint layer="1" speed="0"/>
</fanSpeed>
<filamentDiameters>1.75|1.75|1.75|1.75|1.75|1.75</filamentDiameters>
<filamentPricesPerKg>46|46|46|46|46|46</filamentPricesPerKg>
<filamentDensities>1.25|1.25|1.25|1.25|1.25|1.25</filamentDensities>

</autoConfigureMaterial>

and so on until you get to the last <autoConfigureMaterial> section. I had 4 sections, so you have to add those 3 tags into each section.

Then save the file, go to File > Import FFF Profile and load it back into the software. You only need to edit the text file ONCE. After that, you can change the filament settings in the UI and they now save correctly with each material :D

HexHyte
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 5:27 am
Location: Italy

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:04 am

THIS NEED TO BE FIXED omg

S3D-Jason
Posts: 302
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: Filament Data not saved in Filament settings

Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:37 am

Please read the post above. The software allows you to choose exactly what settings you want saved with the filament selection. We find many users have different opinions about what selection should adjust which settings, so this allows you to customize it however you wish.

As described above, you only have to make this change ONCE, and then the software remembers what settings you want controlled by the filament selection and you can do all other changes in the GUI.

I have tested this on the latest 4.0.0 version and it works correctly following the instructions already posted.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”