nerys
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

[FIXED] Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Sat Aug 26, 2017 1:44 am

I made a lithophane. SImplify 3d Will not slice it. it gets to calculating infill and just hangs their.

I have had simplify hang on really large prints but this is not large or that complicated. its a 3mm thick curve 210mm lithophane. (STL attached)

I loaded my Ender 2 profile (160x150 print volume) turned it 45' on Z so it fits on the bed

I have it set for 8 perimeters and single extrusion fill and 0% infill

it will not slice. since it got stuck on calculating infill ?? (why its 0% ??) so I set it to something (1%) but it still hangs.

suggestions?

turns out I can't attach a 50mb file so here is a link
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-XVT ... GNDSzhIWTQ

Luke
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:49 pm

I ran across a quick solution here in the forums;
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8153

Change the settings in the edit process dialog under the advances tab.

nerys
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:04 pm

Dammit I hope they're able to fix it because I really really like single Extrusion infill. The quality improvement in Prints is amazing.

And thank you very much for finding the solution for me I will try it out in a few minutes

MasterFX
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 11:23 am

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:07 am

I just tried your file with my Ender-2 Profile and had no problems with slicing.
Even Overlap at 10% was ok. And single extrusion also applied
nerys.png

nerys
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Sat Sep 09, 2017 1:32 pm

Can you post yoyr factory file of a successfull slice? Maybe its my computer or i can compare point to point and see if i can find the difference. I set to go fill and it sliced. Slow but it did it. Turning off infill perimeter only finally allowed me to slice a qsn. Still took an hour

Chris

MasterFX
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 11:23 am

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:48 am

Hey Chris,
because of the Bug of S3D I already mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7882
I'm not able to make a factory File with your STL because it is too big and currupts the factory file.
So I put the Calibration Cube in it. You can just replace it with your Lithophane.
Attachments
Vern Gleda and I Naram 59 2017.factory
(5.05 KiB) Downloaded 131 times

nerys
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:34 am

Oh isn't that interesting I also cannot save the factory file with some files in it I thought it was just because it crashed when I sliced it and that's why I couldn't save it when you reload the factory file the STL is partially there

S3D-Jason
Posts: 302
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: Simplify 3d will not chunk my STL. what can I do?

Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:20 pm

MasterFX wrote:because of the Bug of S3D I already mentioned here: https://forum.simplify3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7882
I'm not able to make a factory File with your STL because it is too big and currupts the factory file.
Just wanted to add a quick note to mention that the issue above is now fixed in Version 4.0.1. You should not have any more issues saving or reloading extremely large STL files.
nerys wrote:it will not slice. since it got stuck on calculating infill ?? (why its 0% ??) so I set it to something (1%) but it still hangs.
This issue was also fixed in Version 4.0.1. I am now able to open and slice the factory file you provided without any issues.

Thank you for reporting the problem!

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”