Page 1 of 1

Auto Update of 4.0.0? And now strange behavior

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:14 am
by LingHunXi
Yesterday Simplify3D did an auto-update. I know this because it said "update complete" in a Pop-up window soon after I started it. Yet, strangely, the version still shows 4.0.0
And now, when I go to save gcode, it pre-pends the filename with "AutoSave_"
Why is it doing that?
How do I turn that off?
What actually updated?
Why was the version number not changed?

Re: Auto Update of 4.0.0? And now strange behavior

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:51 am
by LingHunXi
Well, strike the AutoSave_ prefix, that was my bad.
But, still, what was updated and why didn't the version number change?

Re: Auto Update of 4.0.0? And now strange behavior

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:18 am
by horst.w
There was no updating ... ???? >>> european area.
My S3D (english version) is up to date.


Regards
horst.w, GER
Changelog.png

Re: Auto Update of 4.0.0? And now strange behavior

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:07 am
by brian442
S3D doesn't do auto-updates like that. You would have had to go to the S3D website, download the software installer, run it, and then even then the new version is always placed in a separate folder (for example C:\Program Files\Simplify3D-3.1.1 vs C:\Program Files\Simplify3D-4.0.0). So I'm pretty sure you would have remembered if you followed all those steps ;)

Now a prompt that I have seen is a profile update, for example, when they updated the settings for my FlashForge Dreamer. It alerted me that there was a profile update, but you still had to manually select that you wanted to download the new profile. It wasn't automatic, you had to choose "Yes" from the prompt when it asked if you wanted to download it. So maybe that's what you saw.

If you want to turn that off, just choose No when it asks if you want to download the new profile update. It won't prompt you again after that.

Re: Auto Update of 4.0.0? And now strange behavior

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:10 am
by LingHunXi
Thanks everyone!
I don't think I'm loosing my mind, I swear it did an update. And I didn't have to click anything. It just did it.
I wish I'd screen printed the message.
I'll catch it if it every happens again.

Re: Auto Update of 4.0.0? And now strange behavior

Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:36 am
by wirlybird
It seems I remember a similar thing some time back like I got a message saying bla-bla has been updated. I thing it suggested profiles.