User avatar
gamecompiler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

[SOLVED] Compressed Z height

Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:33 pm

Sometimes my prints are compressed in z height. Sounds crazy, thats how it looks - strange. That occured since my simplify3d 4.0 upgrade. Heres an image of an x cariage which has a mount for a 4x4cm fan:
Image

Im sure its an firmware bug of my printer and not Simplify3d.

Heres the gcode.
https://expert-craft.com/images/other/s ... tten.gcode

Id loaded it into an gcode viewer to make sure if the complete gcode has an bug. The gcode seems to be correct.
If the z steps/per mm wouldnt be correct, i would have an horrible amount of overextrusion, but i dont....

Fun fact - the z height of the print is divided by two. So its just the 0,75 long in height as it should be. (Exactly 0,75, thats why im confused)

Heres my simplify3d profile
https://expert-craft.com/images/other/s ... sertag.fff

Im a litte bit confused about that bug. The most prints are correct in z height. But some not - like this case....

If someone got suggestions where to search, thanks in advance - youll help a lot!

User avatar
gamecompiler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

Re: Compressed Z height

Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:45 pm

Now id tryed to meassure the z movement.
G28 Z0
G0 Z0 --> Mark height
G0 Z10 --> Mark height

Id meassured 1cm... Thats absolutly correct. Why does this bug happen?!?

User avatar
gamecompiler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

Re: Compressed Z height

Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:42 pm

Ok, id found id thats an bug in my profile file.
Id created a new one and just changed the extrusion multiplier and nozzle size. Now everything works fine.

If someone of you found out why the profile file in my first post is broken, please say what youd found out. I do not understand why the old profile is not working....

gearsawe
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:06 pm

Re: Compressed Z height

Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:08 pm

Looking at the profile the only thing that stood out to me the is the extrusion multiplier was .82. I usually see something in the .90+ range
which would explain why the layers didn't look squished when the much z compression.

User avatar
gamecompiler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

Re: Compressed Z height

Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:17 pm

Thank you for your feedback. Yes, i also normaly see 90+ extrusion multiplyier. I also normally have. But printing PETG i dont.
The problem isnt that the lines are squished. The problem is that a object with for example 10cm comes out as 7.5cm while printing.
Id created a new config and the bug went away. But im still wondering what happend to archive that strange bug.

I think that "bug" is quite interessting.

Zapperke
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 11:22 am

Re: Compressed Z height

Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:03 am

I'm having the same problem. Model 35mm height, printed 31,8mm.
Firmware is Repetier Dev.

User avatar
gamecompiler
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

Re: Compressed Z height

Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:29 am

Id solved the problem by upgrading to 1.0.0dev.
What id also did is Reseting the EEPROM with:
M502
M500

Funny fact, after creating a new S3D problem id worked for x (2?) prints.
After upgrading to 1.0.0dev everything works perfect.

Heres my firmware for reference:
https://hackaday.io/project/21041-davin ... -the-biest

Thats a really really strange bug.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”