Dssguy1
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:10 pm

If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepare".

Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:49 am

I tracked down the problem for Simplify 3D v2.1.0 on my PC (64bit Windows 7).

Didn't matter the profile I used for my FlashForge creator. The built in ones or ones I created, but as soon as I adjusted the "Extrusion Width" AND turned on "Use random start points for all perimeters", my "Prepare" would crash the program every time.

Turning on "Use random start points" and leaving "Extrusion width" at its default setting of .40, worked fine. Changing "Extrusion width" to .45 and leaving Start Points set to "Optimize start points for fastest printing" worked fine.

BUT, changing extrusion width to .45 or .50, AND having "Use random start points for all perimeters" turned on, would crash when I tried to "Prepare" my gcode EVERY TIME.

So if you are getting crashes at the "Prepare" phase, turn off "Use random start points for all perimeters" and report back to use if that fixed your problem.

I spent about 4 hours tracking this down so I am interested to know if anyone else is experiencing this bug.

Frguy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:32 am

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:50 am

I have the same problem on my Mac (Mavericks os).
S3D crashing with lots of SLT files with option "Use random start points all perimeters".

jjjvr
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:35 am

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Sat Apr 19, 2014 4:10 pm

Just confirmation from me as well, running 2.1.0 on windows 7 32 bit, exactly same problematic behavior with those conditions set
Other than that I am impressed so far with the improvements made

Dssguy1
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:54 am

Thanks for posting back. I was starting to think it was just me. SOMETIMES it lets me pick random start position (seems like on simple prints) but most of the time I crash.

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:09 am

only time i have had it crash was when opening a model that had around 2 mil polygons. that was excessively big and s3d didnt like it. i tried it a few times and it would crash it every time. other than that i have never had it crash. i am on a mac as well. @frguy, when you say lots of models just take a look. if they are really complex, high mesh count models and you loading the table with them then that could be your issue....just thought i would throw that out there but doesnt sound like the same problem as the windows guys are experiencing.

Frguy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:32 am

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Sun Apr 20, 2014 12:08 pm

It seems that this is actually with complex models
I made the following tests on an iMac and a MacBook Pro Retina (Mac OS 10.9.2) so you can test.
I chose at random two profiles of different machines on which I changed only the start point (Use random start points for all perimeters)

Test 1: profile "MakerBot Replicator 2X (both extruders)"
Test 2: profile "Leapfrog Creatr Single"

I chose 10 random STL files on http://www.thingiverse.com
I used them without changing anything (support, rotation, scale or other)

The results are indentical on the 2 Macs and 2 profiles as follows:

Adalinda => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:291612 : Crash
Shrek Bust => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:287319/#files : Crash
Coke Bottle => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:26234/#files : OK
Wildboar => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:182339/#files : Crash
Turtle => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:182332 : Crash
iphone 5s case blank => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:304393/#files : OK
Garden Hose G3/4 Tap => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:303500/#files : OK
Bottle and Screw Cap 23 => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:303457/#files : Crash
Pulley 177-3M-06 => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:303419/#files : OK
Simplified Alien Head => http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:303167/#files : Crash

I hope it will help you

(excuse me for my bad english)

User avatar
3Drasle
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:29 am

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:27 am

I had one stl file crashing Simplify3D when slicing.
I found out that if I changed layerhights from 0.28 to 0.27 I was able to slice with out problems.
Just for a temporary fix....

/Michael
/Michael, Denmark

thruit00
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 12:43 pm

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Thu May 01, 2014 1:45 pm

2.1.0 also crashes on my active fan duct http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:295317
when slicing with a layer height of 0.1mm and a random layer start pont enabled.
As a workaround you can use a layer height of 0.11mm.

~Th0mas

crispy1
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:48 pm

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Mon May 05, 2014 9:28 pm

I've seen this as well on a customer's computer. What's weird is it's a win7 64 bit machine, which is what my laptop is as well (which never has any issues). Changing the layer heights made no difference - it crashed with all files and all changes I made. I didn't get a chance to dive too deeply into the details because time was limited. But perhaps it's a graphics adapter issue?

willnewton
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:40 pm

Re: If Simplify 3D version 2.1.0 is CRASHING when you "Prepa

Thu May 08, 2014 2:58 pm

Similar problem here. Crashes when processing med/large prints (an hour+ print time on medium quality). Does not seem to affect smallish prints (sub 15 min print time on medium).

Following a crash, if I load the default Makergear M2 (my machine) .fff profile, and process the same file, it has no issues, as far as I recall.

Although I have not been able to pinpoint exactly what causes it, I can tell it strongly relates to changing settings in the layer and/or extrusion tabs in .fff profile. These are the only settings I mess with.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”