cutl2014
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:19 pm

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:28 pm

Yeah stock settings and latest firmware, I think it's up to Simplify3D to make it compatible with Cura for Wifi printing, it's ridiculous!


neotko
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:42 pm

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:13 pm

cutl2014 wrote:Yeah stock settings and latest firmware, I think it's up to Simplify3D to make it compatible with Cura for Wifi printing, it's ridiculous!
This is exactly what I wonder

Is up to S3D to fake all he info and get in, developing al credentials and stuff necessary for just 1 peinter. Or is up to the printer to allow any slicer to print on his machine?

I remember the old davinci days when s3d made headers and reversed how to send stuff to the close source davincis. But for a Ultimaker is that how it should be?

So... Should S3D work their asses to just send stuff to the orinter or should Ultimaker just allow other flavors than their Griffin and allow just gcodes without checking their materials?

cutl2014
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:19 pm

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:03 am

neotko wrote:
cutl2014 wrote:Yeah stock settings and latest firmware, I think it's up to Simplify3D to make it compatible with Cura for Wifi printing, it's ridiculous!
This is exactly what I wonder

Is up to S3D to fake all he info and get in, developing al credentials and stuff necessary for just 1 peinter. Or is up to the printer to allow any slicer to print on his machine?

I remember the old davinci days when s3d made headers and reversed how to send stuff to the close source davincis. But for a Ultimaker is that how it should be?

So... Should S3D work their asses to just send stuff to the orinter or should Ultimaker just allow other flavors than their Griffin and allow just gcodes without checking their materials?
I can tell you exactly what will happen - S3D will blame Ultimaker and Ultimaker will blame S3D and nothing will happen and we'll all suffer.

User avatar
DarthRevan
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:29 am

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:55 pm

This code (goes in the post processing area of Simplify3D) is what worked for me when sending a print where both extruders are configured as generic PLA:

Code: Select all

{PREPEND ";START_OF_HEADER\n;HEADER_VERSION:0.1\n;TARGET_MACHINE.NAME:Ultimaker 3\n;GENERATOR.NAME:Simplify3D\n;GENERATOR.VERSION:3.1.0\n;GENERATOR.BUILD_DATE:2016-10-03\n;FLAVOR:Griffin\n;BUILD_PLATE.INITIAL_TEMPERATURE:60\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.NOZZLE.NAME:AA 0.4\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.NOZZLE.NAME:AA 0.4\n;PRINT.TIME:[total_print_time_sec]\n;PRINT.SIZE.MIN.X:0\n;PRINT.SIZE.MIN.Y:0\n;PRINT.SIZE.MIN.Z:0\n;PRINT.SIZE.MAX.X:215\n;PRINT.SIZE.MAX.Y:215\n;PRINT.SIZE.MAX.Z:200\n;END_OF_HEADER\n"}
The codes corresponding to the selectable generic materials from the LCD menu are below:

ABS: 60636bb4-518f-42e7-8237-fe77b194ebe0
CPE: 12f41353-1a33-415e-8b4f-a775a6c70cc6
CPE+: e2409626-b5a0-4025-b73e-b58070219259
PLA: 506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9
Nylon: 28fb4162-db74-49e1-9008-d05f1e8bef5c
PC: 98c05714-bf4e-4455-ba27-57d74fe331e4
PP: aa22e9c7-421f-4745-afc2-81851694394a
PVA: 86a89ceb-4159-47f6-ab97-e9953803d70f
TPU 95A: 1d52b2be-a3a2-41de-a8b1-3bcdb5618695

If you're using chipped spools from Ultimaker there are 2 ways to find the more specific material's code.

1. Save the G-Code and look in the header for Material GUI
2. Cura > Preferences > Materials > Export the material settings for your filament type
Last edited by DarthRevan on Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cutl2014
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:19 pm

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:06 pm

DarthRevan wrote:This code is what worked for me when sending a print where both extruders are configured as generic PLA:

Code: Select all

{PREPEND ";START_OF_HEADER\n;HEADER_VERSION:0.1\n;TARGET_MACHINE.NAME:Ultimaker 3\n;GENERATOR.NAME:Simplify3D\n;GENERATOR.VERSION:3.1.0\n;GENERATOR.BUILD_DATE:2016-10-03\n;FLAVOR:Griffin\n;BUILD_PLATE.INITIAL_TEMPERATURE:60\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.NOZZLE.NAME:AA 0.4\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9\n;EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.NOZZLE.NAME:AA 0.4\n;PRINT.TIME:[total_print_time_sec]\n;PRINT.SIZE.MIN.X:0\n;PRINT.SIZE.MIN.Y:0\n;PRINT.SIZE.MIN.Z:0\n;PRINT.SIZE.MAX.X:215\n;PRINT.SIZE.MAX.Y:215\n;PRINT.SIZE.MAX.Z:200\n;END_OF_HEADER\n"}
The codes corresponding to the selectable generic materials from the LCD menu are below:

ABS: 60636bb4-518f-42e7-8237-fe77b194ebe0
CPE: 12f41353-1a33-415e-8b4f-a775a6c70cc6
CPE+: e2409626-b5a0-4025-b73e-b58070219259
PLA: 506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9
Nylon: 28fb4162-db74-49e1-9008-d05f1e8bef5c
PC: 98c05714-bf4e-4455-ba27-57d74fe331e4
PP: aa22e9c7-421f-4745-afc2-81851694394a
PVA: 86a89ceb-4159-47f6-ab97-e9953803d70f
TPU 95A: 1d52b2be-a3a2-41de-a8b1-3bcdb5618695

If you're using chipped spools from Ultimaker there are 2 ways to find the more specific material's code.

1. Save the G-Code and look in the header for Material GUI
2. Cura > Preferences > Materials > Export the material settings for your filament type
Amazing thanks a lot!!

One thing though - I've got absolutely no experience with G-code - could you please explain how I'd go about using this, where to put it etc?

I'm guessing it would go something like:

1. Make the dual extrusion using S3D
2. Export the G-code to disk
3. Open in a text editor (Notepad?)
4. Paste your code at the top (with the material changed depending on what's in the nozzle)
5. Save
6. Import into Cura (latest version)
7. Print from within Cura via Wifi

Thanks!

User avatar
DarthRevan
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:29 am

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:59 pm

This is a post processing script for use in Simplify3D. If you're not using generic PLA you can change the materialGUID in that chunk of code to the one matching your materials. Doing this will have Simplify3D automatically adjust the header that gets added to the top of your gcode.

cutl2014
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:19 pm

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:47 pm

DarthRevan wrote:This is a post processing script for use in Simplify3D. If you're not using generic PLA you can change the materialGUID in that chunk of code to the one matching your materials. Doing this will have Simplify3D automatically adjust the header that gets added to the top of your gcode.
Ok so do I go into 'Edit Process Settings' - 'Scripts' - 'Ending Scripts' and delete what is in the main box and paste what you have put here (depending on what material I'm using)?

Also, I'm using PETG, which is a lower temperature than CPE - does that matter?

Thanks!

User avatar
DarthRevan
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:29 am

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:03 am

Temperatures are set in the Simplify3D profile, not in this header portion.

The script is to be placed in the "Terminal Commands for post processing" area. It should replace the existing script offered up by Simplify3D.
Screen Shot 2017-12-04 at 8.46.28 AM.png
For CPE replace the lines ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9" and ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9"

with ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.MATERIAL.GUID:12f41353-1a33-415e-8b4f-a775a6c70cc6" and ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.MATERIAL.GUID:12f41353-1a33-415e-8b4f-a775a6c70cc6"

cutl2014
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:19 pm

Re: S3D with UM3, fails to print

Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:19 am

DarthRevan wrote:Temperatures are set in the Simplify3D profile, not in this header portion.

The script is to be placed in the "Terminal Commands for post processing" area. It should replace the existing script offered up by Simplify3D.
Screen Shot 2017-12-04 at 8.46.28 AM.png
For CPE replace the lines ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9" and ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.MATERIAL.GUID:506c9f0d-e3aa-4bd4-b2d2-23e2425b1aa9"

with ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.0.MATERIAL.GUID:12f41353-1a33-415e-8b4f-a775a6c70cc6" and ";EXTRUDER_TRAIN.1.MATERIAL.GUID:12f41353-1a33-415e-8b4f-a775a6c70cc6"
Amazing thanks, so will the Ultimaker use the temperatures that I set in S3D (because CPE is hotter at 240 than PETG at around 220) or its saved default temperature for CPE? Obviously I'd like it to use my custom temps.

Thanks

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”