Page 1 of 2

New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:26 pm
by Umake
Hello all,

When I import a new .fff profile into s3d, the settings are just a copy from another profile that is already available in the list, which makes importing a new profile unusable. Is this a known problem? Because it is pretty annoying and I don't know how to fix it.

Running s3d 4.0.0 on a macbook pro.

Re: New .fff inmport just copies another profile

Posted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:20 pm
by dkightley
When I import a new .fff profile into s3d......,
Please describe exactly how you're doing this.

Re: New .fff inmport just copies another profile

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:07 am
by Umake
File --> Import .fff profile --> select file --> open.

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Fri May 11, 2018 1:29 pm
by Uncle Jessy
Just following up on this as I'm running into the exact same issue and have run into it multiple times.

Background:

I easily have 10+ profiles in Simplify3D 4.0.0 on my mac.

When I want to bring in a new profile that someone else has created and exported and shared with me, it will typically inherit the values from one of my other profiles.

For example, I have a lot of CR-10profiles

I just tried loading a profile for a Dagoma Neva Delta Printer. After I import the file and then open the dropdown and select it, it will display one of my CR-10 profile settings. I have to remove and reimport multiple times in order for it to properly display the profile information correctly.

It's extremely odd and has happened to me a lot of times.

Steps:

Open Simplify3D
File > Import FFF Profile > Select Profile to import > click Open
Click Edit Process Settings > Change Select Profile dropdown to the new profile you imported > Click OK

In the example above the profile would say it was the Dagoma Neva profile but would have all of the same properties and build volume for a CR-10. As well as Script tab information.

I will try to see if I can record a video of this as well but hopefully this info helps. Not sure if its a mac only issue or what but I run into it all the time.

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Sat May 12, 2018 1:29 pm
by waterbornewarrio
I'm having the same problem, also on a Macbook Pro. Historically haven't imported profiles much, but now that I'm trying to do so, it isn't working correctly. I've gone to the extent of removing all profiles. It seems only the first one I import is saved correctly. Subsequent imports just take the settings of the first one imported. However, editing (and saving) a profile works.

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 9:53 am
by DarthRevan
Uncle Jessy wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 1:29 pm
...When I want to bring in a new profile that someone else has created and exported and shared with me, it will typically inherit the values from one of my other profiles....
What values are being inherited? Does the new profile not show up in your profiles drop down list for selection? In my experience the last imported profile gets added to the bottom of the profiles list and isn't automatically selected for use if another process was already present and using a different profile. If you switch to the new profile for your current process the values from the new profile should be what are used in that process.

If you export the profile with File > Export FFF Profile you should see that the profile has not inherited any values from the other profiles in your list. You can do a text compare on the file pre import and post export. Are there differences?

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 12:39 am
by Otolith
DarthRevan wrote:
Uncle Jessy wrote:
Fri May 11, 2018 1:29 pm
...When I want to bring in a new profile that someone else has created and exported and shared with me, it will typically inherit the values from one of my other profiles....
What values are being inherited? Does the new profile not show up in your profiles drop down list for selection? In my experience the last imported profile gets added to the bottom of the profiles list and isn't automatically selected for use if another process was already present and using a different profile. If you switch to the new profile for your current process the values from the new profile should be what are used in that process.

If you export the profile with File > Export FFF Profile you should see that the profile has not inherited any values from the other profiles in your list. You can do a text compare on the file pre import and post export. Are there differences?
I have the same problem also. @DarthRevan, all of the values of the currently selected profile are kept but placed under a new name at the bottom of the profile list. For example, I am using a profile from a Prusa machine, I import the FFF file for my Taz 6. I get the message that it was created and I can see it on the bottom of the profile list. When I select it, it still has all of the same settings that my Prusa profile had, nothing has changed. Nozzle diameter is still at .40, should be .50, temp is 225, should be 215, etc.... S3D is not accepting new values when a FFF is imported.

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 2:47 pm
by youngObi-Wan
Are there multiple processes in the process list when this happens?

If so, have you tried with an empyt process list?

Can you export and share with everyone the two profiles you mentioned that cause this to happen? (TAZ and Prusa)

At first read over this thread, I originally thought this was mistaking not updating for the option to update the machine definition being unchecked. But temperatures and nozzle sizes should be updating when you switch profiles.

So please upload the profiles.

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:51 pm
by Uncle Jessy
youngObi-Wan wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 2:47 pm
Are there multiple processes in the process list when this happens?

If so, have you tried with an empyt process list?

Can you export and share with everyone the two profiles you mentioned that cause this to happen? (TAZ and Prusa)

At first read over this thread, I originally thought this was mistaking not updating for the option to update the machine definition being unchecked. But temperatures and nozzle sizes should be updating when you switch profiles.

So please upload the profiles.
Raising this thread up again.

I work with A LOT of printer profiles and this is easily the biggest pain in the ass for me when i work with Simplify3D If I import any profile I have to do it multiple times in order for it to correctly import and not inherit another profiles settings.

Example: I was working on a formbot raptor print and using that profile, Then wanted to view someone elses Anycubit i3 Mega profile. I Import that profile in using the import profile function > get a notification that the profile was added > i go into my profiles section to go check it out and select it > and BOOM its showing all of my Raptor settings including build volume. I then have to delete and reimport until it works correctly.

On a MacBookPro and literally run into this every week. Love the software but this bug drives me absolutely crazy.

Re: New .fff import just copies another profile

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:37 pm
by S3D-Jake
You're certainly describing unwanted behavior. Have you emailed our support team or tried any of the suggestions posted above?