cd_edwards
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:43 pm

[FIXED] NEW_TOOL/OLD_TOOL

Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:16 pm

Here is something I believe is a bug. I have 2 extruders and 1 hotend. Everything works fine if I start the print using Tool 0. However, If I start a print trying to use Tool 1, Simplify resets andthinks that we started with Tool 0 always. What I've done is to enter a T1 from the prompt switching to Tool 1. My profile is set to print from Tool 1. I have a filament switching script setup to run. One of the first things it does is M117 old tool = [old_tool] new tool = [new_tool]. When starting a print this always says old tool = 0 new tool = 1. For some reason, old tool is not 1 which it should be as I told simplify to use T1 as the tool.

What should happen in the tool change script, is that Tool 1 should retract 115mm, and then reinsert 115mm from tool 1. Instead, Tool 0 retracts 115mm and then T1 attempts to reinsert 115mm even though it is already fully inserted. This of course causes a issue with the amount of filament on the bed.

cd_edwards
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: NEW_TOOL/OLD_TOOL

Sun Dec 24, 2017 11:05 am

I'm surprised that nobody else has noticed this oddball behaviour.

PicoTreed
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: [FIXED] NEW_TOOL/OLD_TOOL

Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:02 am

Hi Edwards,
how did you solve the problem?
I'm using the 4.1.1 version and the bug seems to persist.

I'm able to detect a true nozzle change (by comparing [old_tool ] and [new_tool] values) in the Tool Change Script, but when the print session start with the nozzle T1, Simplify3D think that the [old_tool ] is 0 (zero)!
Thus my script detect a "fake" nozzle change, injecting undesired commands (es. nozzle cleaning).

Thank you!

cd_edwards
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:43 pm

Re: [FIXED] NEW_TOOL/OLD_TOOL

Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:26 pm

there has been no response from simplify3d about this issue. This occurs when you do a G28. For some reason simplify3d resets the tool to 0 at the same time.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”