pivor
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:04 am

Transparent walls that doesent print

Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:14 am

Hello, i got this issue with some of the .stl models that looks like this:
1.png
Most of the time it prints well but its difficult to edit anything.

But sometimes i end up wit something like this:
2.png
3.png
And even sometimes entire walls are missing.

How can i fix this? Thank you in advance.
Last edited by pivor on Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2255
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:59 am

None of your images are showing......why don't you attach them to a post rather than trying to create the right link to a third party site.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

pivor
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:13 pm

dkightley wrote:None of your images are showing......why don't you attach them to a post rather than trying to create the right link to a third party site.
fixed

rrdavis
Posts: 421
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:52 am

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:50 am

There are clearly some issues with your mesh. That's why it looks weird in the viewer.

Try to repair the file first, then it will slice correctly.

pivor
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:38 pm

rrdavis wrote:There are clearly some issues with your mesh. That's why it looks weird in the viewer.

Try to repair the file first, then it will slice correctly.
and how do i do that? i just download file from thingiverse

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2255
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:37 pm

If you have a PC with Windows 10, there's a useful utility called 3D Builder. Load each part into this utility...and if there's any issues, the program will repair them for you. Then save as the default .3mf format.

If you don't have WIN10....then you will need to use one of the online repair services....eg Netfabb or MakePrintable. Google and you'll find a few.

This, unfortunately, is one of the risks of downloading free things from the internet!!!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

AndersE
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:46 am

Works most of the time in s3d: repair menu, flip surface orientation, then click on the object.

pivor
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:11 am

AndersE wrote: Works most of the time in s3d: repair menu, flip surface orientation, then click on the object.
dkightley wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:37 pm
If you have a PC with Windows 10, there's a useful utility called 3D Builder. Load each part into this utility...and if there's any issues, the program will repair them for you. Then save as the default .3mf format.

If you don't have WIN10....then you will need to use one of the online repair services....eg Netfabb or MakePrintable. Google and you'll find a few.

This, unfortunately, is one of the risks of downloading free things from the internet!!!
I tried both solutions, still sliced model doesent match original, also i came across another issue, the model in S3D looks good but after slicing, some walls are missing or even worse, random chunks are added here and there. Its anoying cause you realize it after the print is done..

zemlin
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:42 am

If you're going to feed the software crappy STL files you'll get crappy prints.
Garbage in = garbage out. You need to start with a good STL file. It's the only option.

pivor
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:04 am

Re: Transparent walls that doesent print

Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:02 pm

zemlin wrote:
Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:42 am
If you're going to feed the software crappy STL files you'll get crappy prints.
Garbage in = garbage out. You need to start with a good STL file. It's the only option.
Well, im getting files from thingiverse, also there are no issues with Cura or Slic3r, so..

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”