Willy83
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:16 pm

S3D creates a stringy print

Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:51 pm

Hi all,

I recently got a CR-10S and I love the machine. Ease of install en print quality is great.

I just have 1 problem and that is stringing / hair on my prints when slicing with S3D, in Cura I don't have the issue at all.

All settings are the same, retraction is "reduced" to 2mm due to the Micro Swiss hot end.

I only see that there seems to be a difference in the acceleration which Cura seems to set for travel to 5000 and for printing 500. in S3D I don't have that option and the acceleration is normally also 1 value and therefore Cura modifies this all the time in the printer (but it works).

I've tried multiple .fff files from several people, including owners of a cr-10 with an micro Swiss hotted.

Hope you have some solution(s) for me as I like the interface of S3d much better.

Attached are the 2 gcodes which produces a stringy(S3D) and a non stringy(Cura) print.

Thanks for your help
Attachments
string_test_fast_pyramid Cura.gcode
(120.62 KiB) Downloaded 91 times

Willy83
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:16 pm

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:24 am

Sorry, I missed the S3D gcode.
Attachments
string_test_fast_pyramid S3d.gcode
(81.68 KiB) Downloaded 87 times

zemlin
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:35 pm

You can add information in the scripts tab to control acceleration and jerk.

Here are the lines in my start script. I have a different printer, so these values won't be optimal for yours.

Accel gcode for startup script
M201 X1600 Y1600 E5000 ; acceleration
M205 X12 Z1.0 E5000 ; jerk
M204 T7200 ; travel accel

The postprocessing script also enables varying the settings for different structures in the print.
for example
{REPLACE "; outer perimeter\n" "; outer perimeter\nM204 P900\nM205 X9\n"}
{REPLACE "; inner perimeter\n" "; inner perimeter\nM204 P1600\nM205 X12\n"}
{REPLACE "; solid layer\n" "; solid layer\nM204 P1600\nM205 X16\n"}
{REPLACE "; support\n" "; support\nM204 P6000\nM205 X35\n"}
{REPLACE "; infill\n" "; infill\nM204 P6000\nM205 X35\n"}

There are headers in the gcode file which specify which type of structure comes next. The above lines add additional commands for acceleration and jerk settings below those headers. Again, I am not suggesting these values for your printer. This is what I run for ABS on my Raise3D N2 machines.

Willy83
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:16 pm

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:15 pm

zemlin wrote:
Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:35 pm
You can add information in the scripts tab to control acceleration and jerk.

Here are the lines in my start script. I have a different printer, so these values won't be optimal for yours.

Accel gcode for startup script
M201 X1600 Y1600 E5000 ; acceleration
M205 X12 Z1.0 E5000 ; jerk
M204 T7200 ; travel accel

The postprocessing script also enables varying the settings for different structures in the print.
for example
{REPLACE "; outer perimeter\n" "; outer perimeter\nM204 P900\nM205 X9\n"}
{REPLACE "; inner perimeter\n" "; inner perimeter\nM204 P1600\nM205 X12\n"}
{REPLACE "; solid layer\n" "; solid layer\nM204 P1600\nM205 X16\n"}
{REPLACE "; support\n" "; support\nM204 P6000\nM205 X35\n"}
{REPLACE "; infill\n" "; infill\nM204 P6000\nM205 X35\n"}

There are headers in the gcode file which specify which type of structure comes next. The above lines add additional commands for acceleration and jerk settings below those headers. Again, I am not suggesting these values for your printer. This is what I run for ABS on my Raise3D N2 machines.
Thanks, I will give it a go (if support will extend my trial period) however when I look at the gcode from Cura I see this:
M204 S500
M205 X20 Y20
;TYPE:WALL-OUTER

*cut irrelevant code*

M204 S5000
M205 X30 Y30

and that continues, so Cura continuously change M204 from 5000 to 500 and the other way around and the same for M205.

zemlin
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:12 pm

I really doubt accel and jerk are the cause of your stringing. without knowing anything about the part, material, settings, etc ... it's hard to guess at what you might be facing. I'm not in to reading your GCODE to see what you're doing.

Willy83
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:16 pm

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:00 pm

zemlin wrote:
Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:12 pm
I really doubt accel and jerk are the cause of your stringing. without knowing anything about the part, material, settings, etc ... it's hard to guess at what you might be facing. I'm not in to reading your GCODE to see what you're doing.
Thanks I was planning on uploading all the screen captures that I took but this forum only allows 3 uploads.

I’m also traveling for work at the moment but I have the screenshots with me on a pen drive so hopefully I can upload them somewhere else and share the link here.

I managed to reduce the stringing a bit by raising the retraction but the hotend jammed after going further. I know the hotend is not the best for pla but in cura it work so that’s why I keep trying to get it working and not reverting back to the original parts.

zemlin
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:09 pm

I pulled up your GCODE for a quick peek.
1mm Z-lift on retraction? That's going to be a string generator right there. Don't lift any more than absolutely necessary. I normally run zero because it minimizes stringing, but the rest of your build needs to be spot on for that.

If you're extrusion multiplier is 1, that would imply that you haven't calibrated your extrusion width. You might be over-extruding which can also contribute.

Willy83
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:16 pm

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:38 am

zemlin wrote: I pulled up your GCODE for a quick peek.
1mm Z-lift on retraction? That's going to be a string generator right there. Don't lift any more than absolutely necessary. I normally run zero because it minimizes stringing, but the rest of your build needs to be spot on for that.

If you're extrusion multiplier is 1, that would imply that you haven't calibrated your extrusion width. You might be over-extruding which can also contribute.
Many thanks again.
I will do a test without z hopping or a much more reduced setting. The issue is without the zhop the nozzle grinds over the previous layer.

I’ve calibrated the Extruder and now lowered the multiplier to ~ .92-.95 (0.4mm wall thickness and test cube of 20x20mm)

Willy83
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 6:16 pm

Re: S3D creates a stringy print

Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:02 am

Thanks it was indeed the zhop which cause my issue. I was under the impression that you first have the retraction followed by the hop.
In that case there would not be much filament in the nozzle. But in fact it’s first pulled out of the nozzle by the zhop and then retracted.

Thanks since I didn’t got a reply back from the support team on my email.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”