tbeaulieu3dcomm

Wondering why one wall didn't get fill after a point vertically

The attachment Todds Version back.png is no longer available
Hello, I'm quite new to printing and to this app. I built my own printer and I'm attempting to design and print some custom pieces to improve the rig. Right now my theory is a fan mount with IR sensor mounts that circles the hot end, blowing down on the print. I had some frustration with sketchup and figured it was close enough for a trial run.

In the attached image, the primary 4mm thick mounting plate with screw slots started off in the lower levels with infill, but once it reached the top of the two sensor mounts it was rendered hollow from that point, upward.

I've searched the forum for similar issues and the closest I could find was that the wall could possibly be considered two objects. The most obvious clue that comes to mind with me is that I did carve out a small arc of material vertically in it, but that recess started at a lower layer and was being infilled down there.

Don't waste too much brain power on this, as I'm just trying to learn and figured someone might see the issue.

I've also included my factory file.

Thank you!
The attachment Todds Version back.png is no longer available
Attachments
Todds Version.factory
(23.49 KiB) Downloaded 119 times
horst.w

Re: Wondering why one wall didn't get fill after a point vertically

tbeaulieu3dcomm wrote: Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:28 pm
The most obvious clue that comes to mind with me is that I did carve out a small arc of material vertically in it, but that recess started at a lower layer and was being infilled down there.
On the attached picture you can see a gap between the body and the first layers of the central tube. Was that your intention to draw it?
The grey zik-zak is not INFILL, it is Support. Normally support is to remove but in this situation I think that is not possible.