WTLgrinda
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:30 am

Retract bug

I use a little script to use my firmware retract... However i'm getting a problem with my skirt layer since there is a retract called before the part is started... Either it would need to perform an unretract before starting the part or get rid of the retract before moving to the part. :(

The problem is that the Z-hop form the firmware retract (0.5mm) stays applied to the skirt because no G11 is called. So the skirt ends up being done at 0.7mm (0.2+0.5) instead of 0.2mm

Code: Select all

[...]
G1 Y80.0 F3000.0 ;wipe nozzle quickly
G92 E0
G10
G1 Z0.200 F1002
; process Process1
; layer 1, Z = 0.200
T0
; tool H0.200 W0.400
; skirt
G1 X105.746 Y113.922 F6600
G1 E1.0000 F1800
[...]
horst.w
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:00 pm

Re: Retract bug

There is no retract to see, only last line G1 E1.0 brings the filament forward.
Retraction and Z-Lift are different things, nevertheless they are aligned. For helping it needs to know the complete code or better, attache your factory-file here.

Regards
horst.w
GER
WTLgrinda
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Retract bug

G10 is a firmware retract. You can see it after the G92 E0
Here are the files to explain the problem.
Attachments
test.gcode
(194.49 KiB) Downloaded 176 times
I3_AUTOLEVEL.fff
(16.94 KiB) Downloaded 243 times
horst.w
Posts: 861
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:00 pm

Re: Retract bug

I have not much experiences with post processing and totally no experiences with auto leveling
but I had learned here, the expressions you want to replace must be identical with the term in the searched line.

ex your example-file
; postProcessing,{REPLACE "G1 E-1.0000 F6000\n" "G10\n"},{REPLACE "G1 E1.0000 F6000\n" "G11\n"},{REPLACE "G1 E0.0000 F1800\n" "G11\n"}

you want to replace the term G1 E-1.0000 F6000 by the term G10
but the created gcode which is to post process contains only G1 E-2.5000 F1800
The G11 - line has the same differences.

Because the termes are not identical, the post processing can't be proceeded.


Startsequence of the I3_Autolevel.FFF
G90
M82
M106 S0
M140 S30
M190 S30
M104 S205 T0
M109 S205 T0
G28 ; home all axes
G1 X0 Y20 Z0.2 F3000 ; get ready to prime
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 X200 E20 F600 ; prime nozzle
G92 E0
G1 E-2.5000 F1800
G1 Z0.320 F1002
; process Process1
; layer 1, Z = 0.200
T0
; tool H0.200 W0.624
; outer perimeter
G1 X110.389 Y113.348 F4800
G1 E0.0000 F540
G92 E0
G1 X111.301 Y112.289 E0.0727 F750
User avatar
DarthRevan
Posts: 480
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:29 am

Re: Retract bug

The G-Code tab has commands that make this much easier. Forego the replacing of Retraction commands that can sometimes use different speed values and throw off the replace command. Simply use the G10 and G11 in the start script in replacement of the retractions and primes. Then use M101,M103, M102 commands as triggers for replacing them with G11, and G10. See example below that I use for my Rostock Max v3.
Firmware Retract / Prime M101,M103,M102
Firmware Retract / Prime M101,M103,M102

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”