There should be an "Are you sure?" popup when deleting a machine process.
I've seen several posts on third-party forums talking about putting a lot of time into fine tuning a process and accidentally deleting it because the active cursor was highlighting a process in the window when they meant to delete the model when hitting the Delete key on the keyboard.