JohnB
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:33 pm

Wipe While Retracting...

Tue Mar 04, 2014 6:38 am

I've been having a major problem with getting blobs at layer changes...
I've read every post on blobs and tried pretty much every combination of settings available in S3D I could think of.
I went as far as trying a 50mm coast with a 50mm wipe, a negative -.50 restart and still got the blob.

I have a Bowden style extruder, so I'm pretty sure that not being able to relieve the pressure
in the extruder fast enough before the Z lift of the layer change is the problem.
If I print really slow at 8mm sec. there is no blob at all and the layer change is almost invisible.

From what I've found, the way S3D does the wipe, there is a pause while the filament retraction
takes place before the wipe. This pause is where the blob I'm getting is coming from.

I tried the wipe feature in Slic3r and I get no blobs at all printing at 30mm sec.
The way Slic3r does the wipe, there is no pause... it retracts the filament while
wiping and the wipe speed is also about twice the print speed.

I compared both S3D and Slic3r g codes and found that if I change the S3D wipe g code from:

Code: Select all

G1 E-7 F3000
G0 X87.8 Y22.8 F1800
to:

Code: Select all

G1 E-7 X87.8 Y22.8 F3600
The pause and the blob are both gone.

S3D could you please change the way the wipe is handled to eliminate the pause that is causing the blobs.

Thanks, John

vinny1575
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:55 am

I +1 this.

rmat
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:52 am

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:54 am

+1

paradigmcmi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:26 am

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:28 am

+1

glx51mm
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 5:18 am

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:26 am

+1

Luke321
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:19 pm

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:17 am

+1

euroflo
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:52 pm

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:54 pm

+1

errolt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:24 am

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:26 am

+1

ta1dr
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:06 am

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:11 am

+1

RapApp
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:09 am

Re: Wipe While Retracting...

Wed Apr 30, 2014 6:47 am

+1

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”