shauki
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:28 am

Tool Z Offset Setting

For printers that change tool physically adding the possibility to input tool offset in the Z direction would be very nice, sample machine https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQhkLE9Y4wQ
rajaakahel
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Tool Z Offset Setting

I need this too!
shauki
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:28 am

Re: Tool Z Offset Setting

As a work around I wrote the following python script post processing the GCode output
Image

Code: Select all

if __name__ == "__main__":
    inGcode = open('original.gcode', 'rt')
    outGcode = open('destination.gcode', 'wt')
    skipCount = 3
    toolCommandMet = False
    for line in inGcode.readlines():
      outGcode.write(line)
      line = line.strip()
      if line == 'T0' or line == 'T1':
        toolCommandMet = True
      if toolCommandMet:
        if skipCount > 0:
          skipCount -= 1
        else:
          outGcode.write('G91\n')
          outGcode.write('G1 Z-2\n')
          outGcode.write('G90\n')
          skipCount = 3
          toolCommandMet = False
    inGcode.close()
    outGcode.close()
smoki3
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:28 pm

Re: Tool Z Offset Setting

why you dont do this via firmware?

Return to “Feature Requests”