gearsawe
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:06 pm

Printing in Order by Process Order Bug

Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:29 am

It was my understanding the order in which processes are placed is the order in which they should be printed. This does not seem to be working.
In this image the order should be blue, green, red, and yellow. But the travel paths between each part seem to be kind of random sometimes printing 2 layers on one part before it goes to the next part. Tried all sorts of things with the same result. Layer by Layer or even with print object by object does not even change anything. Using version 4.1.1 also tried 4.0.1 with same result.
Process Order.png
Star - Connect2.factory
(1.41 MiB) Downloaded 33 times

horst.w
Posts: 778
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:00 pm

Re: Printing in Order by Process Order Bug

Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:00 pm

I'm annoyed about this since version 1.1 !

But its not only the proper sequence, it needs often enough time to cool down the printed material but S3D puts the next layer on the same model and than in reverse order to the previous model.

If it is possible for users to determine their own order, it would be very desirable.
If not, than the natural order will be 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - .... how ever on what it is linked.


horst.w
GER

jlund
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:34 am

Re: Printing in Order by Process Order Bug

Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:45 am

I agree the slicer should follow the user determined sequence. There are several implications of the last mentioned optimisation that are extremely wasteful when printing with a dual extruder.

As an example, this optimisation kills filling the build plate in any optimal way, when printing with a dual extruder and only using one extruder.

If the slicer would follow the user determined sequence strictly, the user can ensure the second extruder never bumps into a higher layer on another model, by always printing the next layer on a model beside the unused extruder.

As it is now, the optimisation finish with a double layer on the last model, and that last layer becomes a layer for the second extruder head to bump into later when otherwise it would not.

The optimisation assumes one extruder printers, and should be removed or optioned.

S3D-Jake
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: Printing in Order by Process Order Bug

Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:06 pm

gearsawe wrote:
Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:29 am
It was my understanding the order in which processes are placed is the order in which they should be printed. This does not seem to be working.
In this image the order should be blue, green, red, and yellow. But the travel paths between each part seem to be kind of random sometimes printing 2 layers on one part before it goes to the next part. Tried all sorts of things with the same result. Layer by Layer or even with print object by object does not even change anything. Using version 4.1.1 also tried 4.0.1 with same result.
Process Order.png
Star - Connect2.factory
Thanks for your factory file. The process ordering is working how it has since this feature was originally introduced in version 4.0.1. The printing order will be adhered to with the exception that the last part printed at the maximum clearance height will get printed at the start of the next sequence. For example having 4 processes ordered 1234 will net you the following sequence with sequential printing selected as your printing method:

1234
4123
3124
4123
3124
...
...


I'm glad to submit a feature request on your behalf for a further change to follow a more strict 1234, 1234, 1234, etc... sequence. Perhaps this could be a toggled optimization option in a future release.
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

jlund
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:34 am

Re: Printing in Order by Process Order Bug

Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:51 am

It seems a relevant feature request as printing with more extruders is becoming a thing and the mentioned sequence is in the way.

Another example: The sequence listed is also preventing the user from simply adding own prime pillars, now that the existing ones still does not seem to work for dual material dual extruder printing.

Return to “Feature Requests”