Nabbin
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:03 pm

First layer issues

Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:13 pm

Hi,

I've read through the entire print troubleshooting guide and shifting the recommended settings don't appear to fix my issue. My first layer is extremely spread out, except for the skirt. I did change to a BuildTak printing surface recently, but the skirt printing fine leads me to believe it's not a hardware issue.

Here's the first layer. You can see there's a lot of space between the lines, but the skirt appears to be normal.
IMG_20190107_223216.jpg
Here's a completed print (I realize now this is a slightly different print, but I don't have a picture of the first layer of this one)
IMG_20190110_090211.jpg
And here's the top layer. Maybe a touch of underextrusion, but not nearly enough to cause the first layer.
The attachment IMG_20190110_090219.jpg is no longer available
Attachments
IMG_20190110_090219.jpg

S3D-Jake
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:45 am

Re: First layer issues

Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:26 am

If your first layer height is set to a value below 100% and you're using 4.1.1, the amount of plastic pushed through the nozzle will be less than it was in prior releases. I'd recommend setting the first layer height to 100% and then using the Global G-Code Offsets in the G-Code tab to lessen the distance between nozzle and build platform. This will mimic the slight squish you would see in earlier releases of Simplify3D.
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

Nabbin
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: First layer issues

Fri Jan 11, 2019 3:30 pm

Thanks, I guess that's it. Any chance of adding something like "First layer extrusion multiplier" in a future version? I'm hesitant to move the nozzle too much closer given it's already adhering pretty well, it might make it even more difficult to get the part off.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: First layer issues

Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:00 pm

I would make small adjustments with the Global-Z setting on the GCode tab.

Adjusting the offset value in a negative direction will have the effect of lowering the nozzle very slightly. You should be able to get the gaps between the extrusions on the bottom to close up to form a neater finish.

The good thing about using this method is that its easily reversible....and once set for one setting, it's transportable to other setting profiles.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Nabbin
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:03 pm

Re: First layer issues

Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:31 pm

Also, does this mean that this support article is out of date - https://www.simplify3d.com/support/arti ... rst-layer/

"For example, if you entered 75%, your first layer height is reduced while your extrusion remains at 100%. Another way to think of this is that 100% of your extrusion will be forced into a space that is 75% of the layer height. This reduction in height generates extra pressure and more surface area for that layer, which will help the first layer adhere to the print bed." makes it seem like the "fix" described is actually taking away a feature.

WarnerSmulp
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:01 am
Location: Panama
Contact: ICQ Website AOL Skype

First layer issues

Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:05 pm

I suspect youre too high over the bed for your first layer. Try resetting your z zero point to .05 or .10 lower than it is now.

g.
<a href="https://www.noriualaus.com/sanyo-3-cup-rice-cooker/">https://www.noriualaus.com/</a>

jonner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:33 pm

Re: First layer issues

Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:42 pm

I ran into the same issue. While troubleshooting an issue with underextrusion on the first layer, I observed that when reducing the first layer height to any value under 100%, the amount of material extruded was also affected. This is in direct contradiction to the support article at https://www.simplify3d.com/support/arti ... rst-layer/

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”