nneufeld@kcai.edu
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 5:52 pm

Printing in a loop?

Fri May 03, 2019 5:57 pm

Hello!,

I am curious to if anyone has experimented with Gcode to:

Once a print has finished, allow it to cool then use the print head to push it off of the build platform (into a bin or something), then start the same print again and loop?

The two printers we use mostly are Taz6 and UltiS5

Thanks!,
Nathan

fernandezdenni
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 5:22 am
Location: Orlando

Re: Printing in a loop?

Tue May 07, 2019 5:27 am

Never tried and interested whether is it possible at all

Mogal
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:55 pm

Re: Printing in a loop?

Tue May 07, 2019 5:53 pm

Not sure if I like that idea. Some prints are really hard to break off the bed.

How about this instead?

https://www.google.ca/search?q=3d+print ... 2&dpr=1.35

Mogal
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:55 pm

Re: Printing in a loop?

Wed May 08, 2019 10:56 am

I tried to post this yesterday, to find it never got posted?!

Google "3d printer conveyor belt"

Not what your asking for, but I would be nervous if a print stuck a little to hard to the bed.

greybeard
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:23 pm

Re: Printing in a loop?

Thu May 09, 2019 12:00 pm

As others said...

It's risky counting on the part not adhering strongly enough to cause problems such as belts jumping cogs... a host of problems.

Having said that, once your get past that problem, creating Gcode to do what you want is easy. It can be an Ending script or a separate-stand-alone code.

Nothing special needed - just the gcode for the action you want. Here's an example of a Stand-Alone gcode that simply makes some moves (shown via using the 'Preview Gcode' feature in simplify).

Gcode and Screenshot of the moves are attached...

Gcode:

G90
G21
G28
G1 Z25.0 F500
G1 X25.0 Y100 F1000
G4 P4000
G1 X100 Y110
G1 X25 Y110
G4 P2000
G1 X100 Y110
G1 X25 Y110
G1 X100 Y100
G28
M84

Screenshot
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-05-09 at 8.51.07 AM.png
3D Print Parts
https://www.thingiverse.com/Still_Breathing/designs

iamturbo1978
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: Printing in a loop?

Wed May 15, 2019 1:46 pm

It is doable. I used PLA, on a glass bed. Once the print was done, it would pop the print off the glass, then start over again.

All I did was add a few lines of gcode at the end of the file. The file would move the print head to the back of the printer, then move toward the front at a slow speed, then it would print a file from the SD ( same name as the main file).

I'll see if I can find the video I took of it clearing the bed, and post it later.

Fin3D
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: Printing in a loop?

Thu Dec 10, 2020 9:31 am

iamturbo1978 wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 1:46 pm
It is doable. I used PLA, on a glass bed. Once the print was done, it would pop the print off the glass, then start over again.

All I did was add a few lines of gcode at the end of the file. The file would move the print head to the back of the printer, then move toward the front at a slow speed, then it would print a file from the SD ( same name as the main file).

I'll see if I can find the video I took of it clearing the bed, and post it later.
What g-code will print a file from the SD?

parallyze
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:18 am

Re: Printing in a loop?

Thu Dec 10, 2020 2:50 pm

Fin3D wrote:
Thu Dec 10, 2020 9:31 am
What g-code will print a file from the SD?
Depending on the firmware: M32

AlanKilian
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2020 11:43 am

Re: Printing in a loop?

Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:53 pm

A friend of mine made an art installation that printed 2017 chickens outdoors in the year 2017.

https://hyperallergic.com/368723/make-a ... -roosters/

He visited a few times a week to reload filament, and had to add an AC unit in the heat of the summer.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”