User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Dealing with multiple meshes in one shape file

Tue May 14, 2019 7:18 pm

The utility added in v3...I think it was....Separate Connected Surfaces has been mentioned 205....sorry, 206....times in the forum...and almost 84 of those times has been by me in response to reports of S3D not slicing correctly and leaving small gaps in the sliced model. All of these have been related to there being more than one mesh in a single shape file. Using the Separate Connected Surfaces function rips the separate meshes into separate shape files...and S3D miraculously slices correctly. I'VE BEEN ADVISING OTHERS SINCE 2015...HERE'S A THREAD THAT DESCRIBES THE ISSUE: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3096&p=13400&hilit= ... ces#p13400

Is it not time for the Developers to do something about this??? Is there any way for the action of the utility to be checked and automatically run before a slicing takes place to prevent the awful mis-slicing that S3D is doing???

The bottom line is that I am getting fed up of...or to be precise - pissed off with..... having to advise other users to use the Separate Connected Surfaces option whenever S3D cocks up the slicing of what looks like a good model. Other slicers have no issue in dealing with multiple meshes. Its about time S3D did the same!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

wirlybird
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Dealing with multiple meshes in one shape file

Tue May 14, 2019 7:57 pm

I agree on this. S3D should at least warn of an STL being multiple meshes.

tonyno
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:46 pm

Re: Dealing with multiple meshes in one shape file

Tue May 14, 2019 8:55 pm

Agreed, I suppose. If other slicers do it, and it can be detected, why not.

S3D-Jake
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:45 pm

Re: Dealing with multiple meshes in one shape file

Wed May 15, 2019 10:19 am

Thanks for the great suggestion and for being so vigilant in advising others to try using this feature to solve their model issues. I've logged your request and documented the current volume of interest for our development team to review.
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

Return to “Feature Requests”