wirlybird
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Support Issue. Possible Bug?

Tue May 14, 2019 4:30 pm

Adding supports to this part. Thought they were pretty simple but NO!
First picture is supports set at "Build Plate Only".
Second picture is supports "Normal"

Why to I get that mess of supports or actually lack of supports when I select "Normal"?

1.png
2.png
Attachments
Support Issue.factory
(49.92 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Support Issue. Possible Bug?

Tue May 14, 2019 6:02 pm

Simple and rational explanation!

The stl has two meshes in it....and S3D....as you know.....finds difficulties dealing with multiple meshes in single stls.

Use the Separate Connected Surfaces option......and the support generates as you would expect it to.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

wirlybird
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Support Issue. Possible Bug?

Tue May 14, 2019 6:52 pm

Well, glad to know it was straight forward.
Thing is, I run every STL through my Netfabb so I didn't think to check in S3D for multiple meshes!
Turns out I had the Auto Repair off from last importing a complex model that would crash Netfabb on Auto Repair so alas when I saved this model it was still 2 meshes!

Glad it wasn't actually a "bug" and was just me forgetting to double check my process.

Thanks for the assist!

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Support Issue. Possible Bug?

Wed May 15, 2019 2:26 am

No probs. Its not your fault....its a lack of interest by the S3D developers to ensure the slicer can be used efficiently by the users.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”