mrehmus
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:42 am

Strange print pattern and gaps in first and last layers

Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:04 pm

I upgraded to version 4.1.2 and my prints have gone from great to unacceptable. As you can see in the attached image, there are gaps in the first layer and this very strange print pattern that takes way too long to print. It prints a couple of those leaf-shaped patterns in the center of the print and then skips around to print the rest. The patterns are, apparently, generated because I want 8 small holes left in the print. How can I back up to a previous version of Simplify3D or get the current version to print more reasonably?
I tried to upload the factory file but even zipped it is almost 20 megabytes.
Attachments
Wierd print pattern.jpg

wirlybird
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Strange print pattern and gaps in first and last layers

Mon Jul 22, 2019 6:30 am

Go to the infill tab and check which infill pattern is selected.

Concentric is probably selected.

mrehmus
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:42 am

Re: Strange print pattern and gaps in first and last layers

Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:43 pm

Unfortunately, not.

zemlin
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:36 am

Re: Strange print pattern and gaps in first and last layers

Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:51 pm

How many perimeters do you have configured?
Looks to me like there's on the order of 55 perimeters with a small patch of solid infill.
Last edited by zemlin on Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

wirlybird
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Strange print pattern and gaps in first and last layers

Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:51 pm

You'll need to post a factory file then to see what is up. That sure looks like a concentric infill.

Go to file>save factory file as ...

wirlybird
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:32 pm

Re: Strange print pattern and gaps in first and last layers

Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:53 pm

zemlin wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:51 pm
How many perimeters do you have configured?
That's a good thought.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”