rishab
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2022 7:05 am

Re: Will there ever be any updates?

Great! this is helpful, thanks for sharing.
RoboDLC
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:30 am

Re: Will there ever be any updates?

I got your suggested Superslicer slicer. Like Prusaslicer, I can't send a job to a printer, I have to save it to a media card or import the gcode and send it via CURA or S3D. Am I missing something?

Also, If I modify a printer/filament setting in the advanced or experts, how do I save my changes? UPDATE: Figured that one out.
Like Prusa slicer, you have to be an expert to be a beginner. :)
The interface is a little less confusing than Prusaslicer.

UPDATE 2: Not particularly impressed with the results, especially WRT supports. I think I'll stick to S3D and CURA.

be well,
DLC
D. Clark
Robotics and sensors engineer
And lots of other stuff for fun.
SimpleScott
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:23 pm

Re: Will there ever be any updates?

gwhite wrote: Sun Dec 05, 2021 10:54 am I have spent a lot of time with PrusaSlicer, and SuperSlicer still uses the same organization of settings, which I do not like. For example, they have retraction as a printer setting, not a filament setting. If I change filament, I have to remember to go in & change that in the printer settings. That's just dumb.
Have you seen the section for "Filament Overrides"? PrusaSlicer lets you specify retraction settings for each specific filament. The defaults are specified for the printer, but you can specify overrides at the filament level. Look at the "Filament Overrides" section under Filament Settings. Not sure what version added that, but it's there in 2.4.0.
gwhite
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:37 am

Re: Will there ever be any updates?

Thanks! I'll look into it.
SimpleScott
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:23 pm

Re: Will there ever be any updates?

gwhite wrote: Fri Jan 14, 2022 7:01 pm Thanks! I'll look into it.
This is actually an area where I used to struggle with S3D. Most settings can generally be classified as either a "printer setting" or "filament setting", but there are always exceptions. I really like the way PrusaSlicer is doing this now, with the defaults at the printer level and "overrides" at the filament level. Simplifies the profiles but provides a ton of flexibility.

I'd like to see something like that in S3d v5 (if we ever see an S3d v5). I liked the S3D UI, really *loved* the supports, and overall got good results with it. But having used PrusaSlicer more now and seeing all the work/improvement that's been done to it over the past couple years, I am missing S3D less and less.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”