tcope
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 1:28 pm

Change IP address for printer

At this time I'm not able to set a static IP for my printer so it keeps changing. Is there a way to change this in S3D without setting up a whole new device? in Machine Control Panel? That is, can I just edit the IP address within the current printer setting for Wifi?
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: Change IP address for printer

This could be a good suggestion for the future, but right now you need to use the device setup wizard if the machine moves to a new address.

For many printers and networks we have tested, even when you power cycle the machine it frequently returns to the last used IP address, so it should hopefully work without issue for most customers.
tommynar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2023 6:10 pm

Re: Change IP address for printer

This is controlled by your router. Call your ISP and ask them to modify your LAN settings so that printer receives the same IP address. As long as the printer is on when they call-it should be an easy thing for them to do.

Tom
tcope
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 1:28 pm

Re: Change IP address for printer

The IP address does change every few times I connect. What I ended up doing was creating a new printer for each new IP address, each ending with the IP address (ie CR10SPro 150, CR10Spro 147, etc.).

I'll be changing modems this week and will need to look into setting up a static IP address. Current router does not seem to make this possible and/or easy.
tcope
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 1:28 pm

Re: Change IP address for printer

tommynar wrote: Sun Jul 09, 2023 8:42 pm This is controlled by your router. Call your ISP and ask them to modify your LAN settings so that printer receives the same IP address. As long as the printer is on when they call-it should be an easy thing for them to do.

Tom
An ISP has nothing to do with any device connected to the router. This is controlled by the router itself. My current router either does not have this setting or it is very difficult to set. Regardless, will be getting new router this week and I'll spend more time looking into a statis IP for the printer.
RoboDLC
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:30 am

Re: Change IP address for printer

S3D-Jason wrote: Fri Jul 07, 2023 10:17 am This could be a good suggestion for the future, but right now you need to use the device setup wizard if the machine moves to a new address.

For many printers and networks we have tested, even when you power cycle the machine it frequently returns to the last used IP address, so it should hopefully work without issue for most customers.
When using Octoprint the API key can change with an update or from a dynamic IP change. This means I need to create a new printer entry for that? Editing the connection would be a lot more intuitive than just starting over.

be well,
DLC
D. Clark
Robotics and sensors engineer
And lots of other stuff for fun.
ctilley79
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:09 pm

Re: Change IP address for printer

Fixing this should be as simple as logging into your router and set a "DHCP Reservation" rule for that printer. This isn't an S3D issue.
hojoos
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:25 pm

Re: Change IP address for printer

Simplify3D does not handle network configuration; its primary job is to generate G-code for your 3D printer based on the settings you provide. Once you have configured a static IP address for your printer, you may need to update any relevant settings in Simplify3D to reflect the new IP address when sending print jobs to the printer. It's easy enough to buy proxies, just the key is not to fall for scammers. This may include ensuring that the correct IP address is specified in any connection settings in the program.
tcope
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 1:28 pm

Re: Change IP address for printer

hojoos wrote: Wed Dec 06, 2023 4:25 pm Simplify3D does not handle network configuration; its primary job is to generate G-code for your 3D printer based on the settings you provide.
Who's asking for it to handle network configuration? I was only asking for it to include the ability to modify it's own stored printer profile information.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”