Monty3DP
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 3:15 pm

Keyboard shortcuts for move and rotate

Hello Team,

For v5, Can we reinstate the keyboard shortcuts to move a model (in the X and Y) which was done using the ctrl key and rotate (z-axis) which was done using the Alt key.

This makes workflows so much faster and efficient. The amount of times when I'm fine tuning the position of multiple models for print and you accidentally click and move the wrong thing just slows you down.

I've gone to the "keyboard shortcuts" menu item and it's not an option there
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: Keyboard shortcuts for move and rotate

The shortcuts were slightly changed in V5. I'll explain below.

In V4, you had to constantly press and hold a button every time you wanted to move a model. For example, if you wanted to arrange 10 different parts on the print bed, this was very tedious.

Now with V5, you just press the 'W' key once and you can move around as many models as you want. Same for rotate using the 'R' key or scale using 'E'. You can also just click the buttons on the bottom if you prefer that instead of using the keyboard.
parallyze
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 4:18 am

Re: Keyboard shortcuts for move and rotate

S3D-Jason wrote: Fri Sep 08, 2023 12:27 pm The shortcuts were slightly changed in V5. I'll explain below.
In V4, you had to constantly press and hold a button every time you wanted to move a model. For example, if you wanted to arrange 10 different parts on the print bed, this was very tedious.
Hm, did I miss something? Q/W/E/R are keys I've been using all the time in S3D.... so this can't be new to v5...?

I mean... it's even in the tooltips...
tooltip.JPG
tooltip.JPG (13.02 KiB) Viewed 8476 times
Now with V5, you just press the 'W' key once and you can move around as many models as you want. Same for rotate using the 'R' key or scale using 'E'. You can also just click the buttons on the bottom if you prefer that instead of using the keyboard.
...just like in v4. Hmm...
Monty3DP
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2014 3:15 pm

Re: Keyboard shortcuts for move and rotate

Exactly.

It really depends on the muscle memory you've developed.
It is easier and faster for me to move and rotate by holding down a key than it is by toggling off and on everytime. I was printing a figurine and had to carefully place all the support models needed for such an intricate print. It was really tedious moving and rotating this into place. Eventually just loaded up V4 again.
wolfpackmars2
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Keyboard shortcuts for move and rotate

S3D-Jason wrote: Fri Sep 08, 2023 12:27 pm In V4, you had to constantly press and hold a button every time you wanted to move a model. For example, if you wanted to arrange 10 different parts on the print bed, this was very tedious.
I don't mind this old behavior, actually. If I have a lot of models to align, I will place them roughly with the mouse and then fine tune using the arrow keys. As long as the GUI is responsive enough, holding the key is not a problem. Is this maybe why we lost the ability to scroll through the gcode viewer layers/lines by holding the arrow keys up or down?

Return to “Feature Requests”