3dprinterMEI
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:15 pm

3NTR and S3D

We have a 3NTR A4V4 with 3 extruders, the slicer is very rudimentary and has no real support, Does S3D support multiple extruders? I bought a copy of S3D and installed it as in my search it had a machine profile for this printer. Once installed I do not see how to select the extruder.

Very inexperienced with printing so any help is appreciated.
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: 3NTR and S3D

Yes, the software support multiple extruders. If you are trying to make a profile on your own, you can go to Help > Configuration Assistant, and click the option at the bottom to manually configure the profile. You can then select 3 extruders, whether it has a heated bed, and so on. That will create a profile that already has the correct extruder selections.

If you still need more help, feel free to reach out to our team directly and they might be able to assist more:
https://www.simplify3d.com/contact-us/
3dprinterMEI
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:15 pm

Re: 3NTR and S3D

Thank you I will get into it on Monday.
3dprinterMEI
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:15 pm

Re: 3NTR and S3D

Jason I hope to get to this later today. Do you or do you know of someone who may have a profile that we can use as a starting point?
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: 3NTR and S3D

The instructions above show you how to create a starting profile, or you can contact our team directly using the link I posted for further assistance.
3dprinterMEI
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:15 pm

Re: 3NTR and S3D

Jason thanks for your help, we were up and running within 15 minutes! We do have a slight problem with material, on our first layer it didn't start extruding until about 30% into the first layer. We did have a new roll that is dry and the nozzle was purged. Is there a setting that controls how much material is over-extruded at the beginning of the print?
20240201_152019.jpg
Sorry about the orientation I didn't take it that way.
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: 3NTR and S3D

You could try adding a few skirt outlines. That helps to prime the nozzle by printing a ring around the part.

There's other ideas you might want to review here:
https://www.simplify3d.com/resources/pr ... -of-print/
3dprinterMEI
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:15 pm

Re: 3NTR and S3D

Thanks those tips are helpful. We're trying the skirt now. It seems to have remedied the issue.


One thing the original slicer did was 2-3 raft layers of print material, 2-3 layers of breakaway support then the print was nested on top of that. If we need to do that is it possible and what would that workflow look like?
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: 3NTR and S3D

You can change the raft extruder on the Additions tab of your process settings. It typically uses the same extruder for the entire raft though.
3dprinterMEI
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2024 4:15 pm

Re: 3NTR and S3D

Is it possible to have a raft of base material like ASA, then a support raft, of say 2-3 flat layers of a different material like HIPS or a soluble support material, then the part material of ASA?

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”