fender21
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 5:01 pm

Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Sat May 12, 2018 1:16 pm

Prusa just released firmware 3.2 (it's out of beta) and one of the biggest updates is the enabling of Linear Advance & Linear Correction. Is there any suggestions on how or if I need to enable this in my S3D profile?

B-H-S
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Tue May 15, 2018 1:55 pm

Love my Prusa but also would like to know the answer to this question ???????????????

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1631
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 4:53 am

If you can advise how the function is switched on using Gcode, then someone may be able to suggest a way of generating the command in S3D.

Not everybody has a Prusa with the new firmware..and at the moment they are unable to help!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

wirlybird
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 6:01 am

I am assuming you are using an MK3.

Check this out.

https://github.com/prusa3d/Prusa-Firmwa ... alibration

Plus here is a whole thread on it.

https://shop.prusa3d.com/forum/hardware ... 17799.html

B-H-S
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 1:35 pm

Yes Correct MK3

thanks for the links I'm still trying to find out how to initiate it I think it might be in there slicer only. But thanks

wirlybird
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 1:40 pm

I have an MK2. On mine as long as linear advance is enabled in the firmware then I just add the "K" value I want to use to my start script such as
M900 K40

Here is a good write up on the basics.

https://mattshub.com/2017/10/02/linear-advance/

B-H-S
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 2:03 pm

whirlybird

Thanks I just did some searching and found the command
M900 K{if printer_notes=~/.*PRINTER_HAS_BOWDEN.*/}200{else}30{endif}; Filament gcode

this is out of the slicr fillement gcode setting.. this is new to me as I only had my Mk3 a few months so Linear advance is new and I believe it has been re introduced in latest FW..

not sure how to use it as the command above is in there profile for individual Filaments so in Gcode do I put a

M900 K (and then a value) ??? but what value... I keep looking about

thanks for replying

wirlybird
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 2:10 pm

the one they have in there is set up to account for different conditions such as if you use the MMU or not.

The basic line is M900 Kxx where xx is the value.

On mine I have determined that for PLA 40 is the value to use and I think I use 25 for ABS. these are a bit subjective though.

The article from Matt's hub is pretty good at explaining the basics and how to come up with values to use.

B-H-S
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 1:49 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 2:17 pm

Have read your link I understand now will do a test print of the Gcode and put the M900 command with the K value into my start code for the material I'm using ?? hope it works

Thanks

wirlybird
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:32 pm

Re: Linear Advance & Correction Prusa 3.2

Wed May 16, 2018 2:21 pm

Yes or just modify the one they have in there. Since I don't use the MMU I just shortened it to the M900 Kxx

You can see in this -
M900 K{if printer_notes=~/.*PRINTER_HAS_BOWDEN.*/}200{else}30{endif}; Filament gcode

that what it is saying is that if the "notes" say Bowden (i.e. the MMU) then use K value 200 otherwise use value 30.

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”