Zuhan
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:52 pm

Extruder Calibration Da Vinci 1.0 Pro

Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:19 pm

I just upgraded to the Titan Extruder and I'm having issues with calibrating this thing. The gear is much bigger now causing the filament to feed a little slower than it used to. Any suggestions on how to do this?

airscapes
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:35 am
Location: Philadelphia PA Area

Re: Extruder Calibration Da Vinci 1.0 Pro

Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:56 pm

Print a single walled square (turn on allow single extrusion walls in the advance tab) that has a wall thinness the same as your extrusion width. that is of a known height. If the extrusion multiplier is correct the wall will be exactly the thickness when measured with a accurate caliper of your extrusion width.
Also can check starting height with same square as the height of the wall should be exactly what the model height is.
Here are some squares of different thicknesses, now sure what size you need, or make you own. They are all 2mm tall http://misc.airscapesart.com/cal_squares/index.html

Zuhan
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:52 pm

Re: Extruder Calibration Da Vinci 1.0 Pro

Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:33 pm

So it's the Extrusion Multiplier i'm going to need to change right?

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 1797
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: Extruder Calibration Da Vinci 1.0 Pro

Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:42 pm

Watch this video: https://www.matterhackers.com/articles/ ... r-extruder

It runs through the steps you need to do to set your extruder up so it correctly feeds filament after hardware changes. You'll need to do this first before you even think about tweaking things in S3D.
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

Zuhan
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:52 pm

Re: Extruder Calibration Da Vinci 1.0 Pro

Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:24 pm

Ok, so I attempted those steps on that matter hacker site but apparently the XYZ firmware on my printer doesn't have an EEProm to modify. Any suggestions?

Zuhan
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:52 pm

Re: Extruder Calibration Da Vinci 1.0 Pro

Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:03 pm

Ok I finally got a reply from someone on that matter hacker site that states

"@Zuhan - unfortunately, I don't think there is a way to modify the firmware on the DaVinci 1.0 Pro. That model was closed source, so the firmware is not available and as far as we know there's no way to modify the stock firmware."

So since I cannot do anything firmware wise should I start changing settings in Simplify3D?

Return to “General Discussion and Tips”