gearsawe
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:06 pm

"Clone Part" not just "Duplicate"

Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:56 pm

This feature request would take a ton of work. But reduce the number of issues arrived with Duplicating a part.
First start off with a single part and process it and you are happy with it.
Image
Now take said such part and duplicated it and proccess it again. still not bad but there are some minor differences here and there.
Image
Now you need to rotate the part for some nesting reasons lets say. Now things begin to break down. Infill which was at 45 is now 0 relative to the part.
Image
Now if there was a Clone Part option it would basically be saying slice and orientate and translate the original g-code off the parent part to the new child position and rotation. Basically this what a software does now called insight. The actually tool paths are just moved to the new location and you do get a real clone of the part with the same infill pattern and direction... basically a real clone of the part.
Image
Now I guess you could say just duplicate all your process and adjust all the angles of the infill and external fill pattern. Yes you could do this and it gets complicated fast. The copy is not really a duplicated right now. I do run into problems sometimes. Looking for a better way to get real clones of the parts. For things like gears I put the start point near the center so the start is always inside the trough of a gear tooth and never on the tip. If I copy the gear now I have to create a new process and adjust the new copy process to be in the center of the new gear. Oh and don't forget you now have to assign each gear to its own process. Now you need to make 16 gears! well have fun! Think you get the point.

So this clone item would be an item you can't assign a process to it is more a place holder for where the g-code will be translated to. It would show maybe as different color in the Model list. would need support for grouped models items aswell. Think this could be a useful and great improvement over the current copy method now. Any change made to the original Parent Model would automatically be applied to all the cloned children.

S3D-Jake
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:45 am

Re: "Clone Part" not just "Duplicate"

Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:32 pm

Fantastic idea! Sequential printing would become increasingly powerful with this type of cloning. I'll keep an eye on this thread for other users with interest.
"A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song."

Wallabear
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:33 pm

Re: "Clone Part" not just "Duplicate"

Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:37 pm

+1 I would defiantly be able to use a feature like this especially when I make 7-12 of the same parts at the same time

Return to “Feature Requests”