kburke09
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 9:41 am

how to flatten the top of a model

Sat Sep 07, 2019 9:55 am

I am making clay stamps. When I bring in my image and create a model the hills and valleys it creates are too severe. how do I make it so the top surface of the model is more flattened?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-09-07 at 6.54.24 AM.png

TheBum
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 11:13 pm

Re: how to flatten the top of a model

Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:42 am

That's a design issue. You should go back into your design app and fix it there.

However, you can fix it in S3D by going to the Advanced tab in the process window and specifying a "stop at height" value (and checking the checkbox). Leave the "start at height" checkbox unchecked.

kburke09
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2019 9:41 am

Re: how to flatten the top of a model

Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:57 pm

what do you recommend for an appropriate stop-at height?

TheBum
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 11:13 pm

Re: how to flatten the top of a model

Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:50 am

It depends on how deep of an impression you want to make. You'll just have to experiment.

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2043
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: how to flatten the top of a model

Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:20 pm

I am making clay stamps. When I bring in my image and create a model the hills and valleys it creates are too severe. how do I make it so the top surface of the model is more flattened?
What utility are you using to do the conversion??

Whatever you're using, it looks as if you need to tune the settings of the conversion process...….not try and bodge bad results in S3D. There should be settings to adjust the range of depth...the add-in in S3D has settings, but without actually trying the tool out, I'm not sure what all of the setting actually do.

You may need to adjust the contrast settings of the source image so that the converter works better....
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

greybeard
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:23 pm

Re: how to flatten the top of a model

Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:48 pm

Post your original Artwork, DXF, whatever you can and resulting .STL file. Most CAD programs have tools to Extrude an image, DXF...
Extruding is what you want to do - i.e., taking Text or a graphic and extruding it uniformaly so as to make a Stamp.

If you post the file, I’ll take a look at doing it... Also, if your file (.stl) already looks good and simply want to flatten the peeks, then a CAD program can do that, too...

Typical example of a CAD / text below...
Attachments
tofu.png
3D Print Parts
https://www.thingiverse.com/Still_Breathing/designs

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”