User avatar
SteveIsHeer
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:45 pm

Bridging is not triggered on hollowed models

Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:58 pm

When I take a solid model and set infill to 0, the bridging settings are not applied to the top layers of the model. A good example is to simply take a solid 20x20x20 cube, set infill to 0, any number of perimeters. The top layer prints like the rest of the print without bridging settings applied. This is a problem when the top layer has a larger area than this test cube.
It show's to go you how feelish you fool when your tang is all tungled up and you bart stalking tackwards!

User avatar
dkightley
Posts: 2080
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:09 pm

Re: Bridging is not triggered on hollowed models

Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:52 pm

You've answered your own question. A solid 20x20x20 cube is not hollow.

Edit the solid cube in a CAD package so it is hollow....and its hollow. And bridging will then apply on the downward facing surface INSIDE the hollow shape.

Setting the printed infill to zero does not magically make the object hollow!
Doug Kightley
Volunteer at the National Tramway Museum http://www.tramway.co.uk
Railway modeller and webmaster at http://www.talkingtgauge.net

User avatar
SteveIsHeer
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: Bridging is not triggered on hollowed models

Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:35 pm

dkightley wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:52 pm
You've answered your own question. A solid 20x20x20 cube is not hollow.

Edit the solid cube in a CAD package so it is hollow....and its hollow. And bridging will then apply on the downward facing surface INSIDE the hollow shape.

Setting the printed infill to zero does not magically make the object hollow!
That is my point! The slicer has made it hollow therefore should treat it as such. This is a feature missing in the slicing process. By having the slicer hollow it out, it should process it as hollow. It's not a big issue for a small item like the above mentioned cube but if the model is larger, without applying bridging settings, it would fail to create the top surface. The idea of putting supports in via the cross section tool isn't acceptable.
It show's to go you how feelish you fool when your tang is all tungled up and you bart stalking tackwards!

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”