Lc1975
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:28 am

change movement on start

Hello..
I have maybe a dumb question...

When i start a file the z always goes down to the table move to start point and prints..

But i prefer to first make the X/Y axis movement and then the Z movement,

because since the bed of the printer is not flat..
the corneers is higher then the rest of the bed, the nozzle touch lightly in the glass....

In the file gcode always start:


; tool H0.200 W0.400
G1 Z0.200 F1002
G1 X162.663 Y140.912 F6000
G1 E-0.2000 F3000

Is possible to have a command line or anything else to change the layer to:

; tool H0.200 W0.400
G1 X162.663 Y140.912 F6000
G1 Z0.200 F1002
G1 E-0.2000 F3000

Or i have to always edit the file and change the layer manually...?
S3D-Chris
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:52 pm

Re: change movement on start

You can add two lines to the end of the start script that will lift the Z and move to the center of the bed. Try adding these lines:

G1 Z10 F600
G1 X150 Y150 F1500

You can replace the 150 values with half of the axis length to get the extruder to go to the true center of the bed.
Lc1975
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:28 am

Re: change movement on start

Thanks for the tip.

Going to try.
Roncelliplastics
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2021 4:20 pm

Re: change movement on start

Hi,
Has there been any updates to have S3D output XY first before Z on the first motion movement?

While this workaround helps it would be nice if we could lower Z, move exactly in XY and then have Z return to the first layer height.

Return to “Feature Requests”