mushoo
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:34 pm

[ADDED] "Workflow" saving

It would be great to be able to save the state of the entire set of Simplify 3d things into a preset file or some such - essentially saving models, placements, rotations, and however many print settings are active, all in one file for easy recall.
User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: "Workflow" saving

s3d does this.....its called a factory file.
dennisjm
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: "Workflow" saving

If you happen to save a factory file, then do some other stuff and choose different processes etc, then load your factory file again, the process bar will show whatever you used last. That can be very confusing. If you look at the actual settings in all the tabs though you'll see they are preserved according to how they were set when you saved.
User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: "Workflow" saving

yes i have noticed this. everything in a factory file is saved the way you expect it to except the process name itself. it is a strange thing. until one day when that is fixed i guess as long as your aware of it, it makes no difference in the end result but for someone that doesnt know they might be left scratching their head.
JoeJ
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:52 am

Re: "Workflow" saving

I just ran a test and renamed some of my processes, and then saved the factory file. If I reopen the factory file, all of the process names as exactly the same as when I saved them. That's what I would have expected. What exactly are you guys seeing?
User avatar
jimc
Posts: 1124
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 11:02 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact: Website

Re: "Workflow" saving

Joe, save a factory file, say it uses a profile called abs1. set it aside then load something else and another process as if you were going to print. Now say this process is called nylon2. Now, load your saved factory file again. Everything loads as you would think but click on your process and at the top of your settings page the name of the process is still nylon2 but all the settings are correct and from the abs1 process you have set in your factory file. This is on the mac version. Not sure if the pc version does the same thing or not
dennisjm
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 9:51 pm

Re: "Workflow" saving

yeah it's not the process names that are the problem. You can name them whatever you want and those stay.
It's the profiles that are listed in the big drop down.

So for instance I have a profile called "Left" and one called "Right". They just differ in the start code and extruder profiles to print on the left or right extruder respectively. (I have one called "Both" too of course.)

If I save a factory that was printing on the left extruder but then use the right for a while, then open the factory, it will still say right, even though the gcode and everything is still set up to print on the left.
User avatar
KeyboardWarrior
Posts: 480
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: "Workflow" saving

dennisjm wrote:If you happen to save a factory file, then do some other stuff and choose different processes etc, then load your factory file again, the process bar will show whatever you used last. That can be very confusing. If you look at the actual settings in all the tabs though you'll see they are preserved according to how they were set when you saved.
It still saves a ton of time. I either name the Factory File so I know what printer/processes are in the file, or I will look at the starting script and figure it out from there if the process bar isn't telling me the correct printer.

Factory Files save time on positioning,support, every setting I tweak. But mainly I use Factory Files for multiple process prints, since it's always nice to be able to open the Factory File and remember exactly what settings I set for each part or for each region, even weeks/months later I've gone back to look at Factory Files.
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1608
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: "Workflow" saving

The latest version 3.0 automatically saves the state of the application every time you close it, and restores it when you open. All issues in this thread are now resolved.

Return to “Feature Requests”