Unpythonic

Superfluous Support Material Generation

I just created my first dual-extrusion design, and Simplify3D did a great job - except for when it added this support material for apparently nothing in the middle of a thin cylindrical hole in the part. Is this by design? Is there an easy way to prevent these from being generated without manually placing or removing supports?
Attachments
Superfluous_Support.PNG
S3D-Rick

Re: Superfluous Support Material Generation

You may be able use the Support Generation Tool to generate automatic support, then remove the pillar that appears in that hole. If you could post a factory file of this part, we can help you zero in on what may be causing this!
Unpythonic

My apologies in advance, I'm a bit a newbie to this area. By "factory file" do you mean STL? gcode? F3D? something else? It's not a thing I'm concerned about intellectual property with (there are about 10 similar items on thingiverse) so I can post whatever would help.
S3D-Rick

If you go to File>Save Factory File As... you can save off the factory file that includes all of your settings and your model setup. This is an easy way to share entire projects!
dkightley

Unpolythink.....
a few things for you to think about...

Firstly, the process is Automatic generation of supports.....not Intelligent generation of support. Is there a difference??? Yes. Automatic support generation is where support is generated where a series of simple checks result in the decision that there is material needing support. Intelligent support generation is where there are more than a few logical tests carried out to ascertain if support is required....there may be a level of reviewing the shape of the area, its size, and other factors that then are used for a "human" decision as to whether support is needed, and how the support is created.