lubos_h

V5 issue on Mac M1

Hello,
unfortunately, version 5 on Mac M1 16 Gb has an almost unusable Gcode display for larger print jobs. The display response time when rotating or zooming is always a few seconds, it almost stops at high zoom. Here is the video:
https://youtu.be/YuFCYaP4HlA
Money was sent, but I can not use it. I hope that a fix of this huge bug will come soon.
Thank you.
S3D-Jason

Re: V5 issue on Mac M1

The V5 rendering engine should be quite a bit faster than V4. Did you ever use V4 in the past on this same computer, or are you just using V5 now for the first time?
lubos_h

It should be, but on a Mac M1, S3D V5 is at 50% of the speed of V4.1.2. I've been using S3D for many years.
Question is, why other slicers run great on M1, and payed S3D not...
lubos_h

I have uploaded a video comparing the speed of different versions of S3D. At the same time a new bug appeared - the object is too big and does not fit on the pad. This is nonsense, however version 4 can handle it, version 5 can't. I chose a small object, and the difference in speed is not that noticeable, however it is noticeable in favor of 4.1.2. The display of a large object is stuck in both versions, but it is worse in the new one.
https://youtu.be/adYDfrNvN5U
tardar

In my post i was not able to upload a video: viewtopic.php?p=63384#p63384

But i experience the same
I have installed S3D 4 parallely and is much faster in the rendered view than V5 for me.

Here is a little comparing video:
https://tube.tardar.social/w/xxa6oNJLsvWsHUz8jvRtNQ
lubos_h

Wake up Simplify support!!!
We payed for S3D Mac version, and there is no answer....
When we can expect correct Mac M1 version?
DannyD

TLDR; v4 is unusable on the Mac M1, switched to PrusaSlicer. S3D has ruined its reputation. I doubt we'll see an M1-optimized version anytime soon.