invertmast
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:41 pm

Random solid Bridge layers in infill

So i have noticed with v5.1.2 that i get these random Bridge layers in between layers of infill. Solid diaphragms are turned OFF. Typically rotating the model a few degrees or even repositioning the model on the build plate will either eliminate the random solid bridge layer, increase the quantity of them or decrease the quantity of them. It happens with multiple models and seems more prevalent when I have multiple process' for a single model. The larger the model the more likely they are to show up.

Here is the model with it centered and aligned to the build plate using the auto functions in S3D. you can see the single solid bridge layer.
Slice1.jpg

The same model as above, only rotated 3 degree's and the solid bridge layer has disappeared. With this model, if you do not rotate it and move it fore or aft on the build plate, it will increase the number of solid bridge layers within the model.
slice2.jpg
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

Can you attach the factory file for the print? Have you already used the S3D repair checks to look for non-manifold or self-intersecting surfaces?
invertmast
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:41 pm

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

S3D-Jason wrote: Fri Sep 29, 2023 10:33 am Can you attach the factory file for the print? Have you already used the S3D repair checks to look for non-manifold or self-intersecting surfaces?

The Factory file is attached. I have used the repair checks and everything checks out fine (no errors).

This issue is actually consistent across 3 different factory files and over 20 different part files.
Attachments
ArtifactFFF.factory
(5.88 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
S3D-Jason
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 6:01 am

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

Your factory file doesn't have any models in it. That's usually the most important part for understand why you're seeing incorrect slicing.

Setup the print just like you did last time with models, processes, etc, then click File > Save Factory File As.
invertmast
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:41 pm

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

S3D-Jason wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 4:05 pm Your factory file doesn't have any models in it. That's usually the most important part for understand why you're seeing incorrect slicing.

Setup the print just like you did last time with models, processes, etc, then click File > Save Factory File As.
lol.. that would be helpful wouldn't it..

Attached are two FFF's.
ArtififactFFF is as S3D automatically orients them after selecting a flat face to the build plate. Part 117FFL has the offending random solid layer.
NoArtifactFFF is the same as the previous file, with the offending random solid layer which has been removed by rotating the part Neg. 1 degree.
Attachments
NoArtifactFFF.factory
(404.4 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
ArtifactFFF.factory
(400.85 KiB) Downloaded 112 times
Krempton
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:37 am

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

Hello,
I know the problem, I have experienced the errors in geometry myself. If you set the setting in "Advanced" "Slicing Region Repair Mode" on "Merge All Boundaries", you no longer have any interruption of the layers.
:D
invertmast
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:41 pm

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

Krempton wrote: Fri Oct 20, 2023 1:09 pm Hello,
I know the problem, I have experienced the errors in geometry myself. If you set the setting in "Advanced" "Slicing Region Repair Mode" on "Merge All Boundaries", you no longer have any interruption of the layers.
:D
That does work, but it doesn't explain why it does it when the Repair features inside of S3D find no errors with the part. IF there was infact an error in the part geometry, that error should continue with the part no matter the orientation and not disappear or get worse by rotating the part.
Krempton
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:37 am

Re: Random solid Bridge layers in infill

Hi, click on "Display the Wireframe Edges for Each Triangle" Then you can see that there are a mistake in the part, small crack in the hole. The problem also occurs in this area.
I can't tell you why the Slicing problem is solved by turning the part.
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-10-21 133112.png

Return to “Troubleshooting and Bug Reports”