Page 1 of 1
Do NOT save by default
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 6:33 pm
by tenaja
I was playing around with the new 3.1.0 version today, testing the new features. I closed the file, WITHOUT saving. Oddly, there was no "File change; save changes?" prompt. So I reopened it, and to my dismay, the file had been changed.
How annoying! We can not test files without ruining our known-good file.
Please fix this.
Re: Do NOT save by default
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 6:12 am
by andrewk72
This isn't happening to me. In fact, it's working exactly like the other version did as far as saving and prompting.
You might want to post more details with the exact steps you are taking. Otherwise, I doubt anyone's going to be able to help since, as far as I can tell, it's working perfectly correctly for me!
Re: Do NOT save by default
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 12:13 pm
by tenaja
I doubt it is specific to the new version.
I opened S3d. The last file opened is opened by default. I change the file by adding another 3d model, and no other changes. I Prepare to Print, so I can see the layers. I close S3d.
I am not prompted to save changes. I do not Save the file myself. I take no actions that would indicate a File-Save has taken place.
I opened S3d. The last file opened is opened by default. This is the CHANGED version of the last file.
Re: Do NOT save by default
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 12:52 pm
by andrewk72
That's exactly how it's supposed to work. It saves what you were doing last time and reopens it exactly where you left off. If you don't want it to do that, go to Tools > Options, and disable the "Save and restore application state" option.
And just to be clear, it isn't modify your external factory files. It just saves the state of the program internally and reloads it when the software restarts. If you want to overwrite your factory files or other files, you will need to manually go to File > Save Factory etc